National Economic Forum: March 2022

Programme and discussion papers from the National Economic Forum on March 2022.



Agenda item
09:30  registration
10:00 to 10:05   welcome by Ivan McKee, Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise
10:05 to 10:20  opening address by Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister
10:20 to 10:40  business address by Mariana Mazzucato, University College London, and founder of the UCL Institute for Innovation & Public Purpose

10:40 to 11:40 

 Q&A session hosted by Mr McKee

  • Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Economy, Kate Forbes
  • Sean McGrath, Entrepreneurial Scotland
  • Maggie McGinlay, Energy Transition Zone

11:40 to 11:55 

closing address by Kate Forbes, Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Economy
11:55 to 12:20  comfort break

12:20 to 13:15 

discussion groups

  • DG1 – entrepreneurial people and culture
  • DG2 – new market opportunities
  • DG3 – productive businesses and regions
  • DG4 – skilled workforce
  • DG5 – a fairer and more equal society
13:15 lunch
14:00 NEF close


  • Colin Anderson, Director, Denki Games
  • Martin Avila, Group CEO, CEIS
  • Rodney Ayre, Head of Manufacturing, Mitsubishi Electric
  • Jackie Brierton, CEO, GrowBiz Scotland
  • Lucy Brown, Operations Programme Director, John Lewis Partnership
  • Andrew Burnett, Managing Director, Elevator
  • Mark Bustard, CEO, IBioIC
  • Mary Campbell, CEO, Resilient Corporates Limited
  • Andy Campbell, Commercial Director, Elevator
  • Donald Campbell, CEO, MG ALBA
  • Mik Cantlay, Chair, Scottish Funding Council
  • Claudia Cavalluzzo, Executive Director, Converge
  • Paul Coffey, CEO, Scotland 5G Centre
  • Mark Cook, Chair Life Sciences Scotland, ILG Medtronic
  • Rachel Cook, Deputy Head of Policy Scotland, FSB
  • Colin Cook, Director for Economic Development, Scottish Government
  • Brian Corcoran, CEO, Turing Fest
  • Sara Cowan, Coordinator, Scottish Women's Budget Group
  • Audrey Cumberford, Principal and Chief Executive, Edinburgh College, Edinburgh College
  • Russell Dalgleish, Chair, Scottish Business Network
  • Chris Dowling, Joint Managing Director, Cairngorm Group
  • Hannah Downey, Senior Rural Policy Officer, Scottish Government
  • Stuart Duffin, Chair, Scottish Union if Supported Employment
  • Mark Elliott, CivTech Programme Director, Scottish Government
  • Gillian Fleming, Managing Director, Mint Ventures
  • Stuart Gallacher, Head of Industrial Liaison, BAE Systems
  • Jess Galloway, Policy and Events Advisor, The Scottish Womens Convention
  • Gwlyn Gibbons, Crichton Trust
  • Gary Gillespie, Chief Economist, Scottish Government
  • Stuart Glen, Member Services Director, Institute of Chartered Foresters
  • Adian Grisewood, Interm Director Economic Policy, Scottish Government
  • Gemma Hamilton, Investor, BGF
  • Lukas Hardt, Policy and Engagement Lead, Wellbeing Economy Alliance
  • Steven Hill, Policy and External Affairs Lead, Royal London
  • Jennifer Hunter, Director, Culture Counts
  • Scott Johnstone, CEO, Scottish LifeSciences Association
  • Emma Innocent, Strategic Policy Adviser, Scottish Government
  • Sandy Kennedy, Director ScotFIN, IGS
  • Mark Kent, CEO, The Scotch Whisky Association
  • Robert Kilpatrick, Creative Director, Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA)
  • Lesley Laird, Director, Equate Scotland Equate Scotland
  • Geoff Leask, Chief Executive, Young Enterprise Scotland
  • David Lonsdale, Director, Scottish Retail Consortium
  • Paul Macari,Head of Planning and Economy, Aberdeenshire Council
  • Louise Macdonald, National Director, IoD Scotland
  • Sandy Macdonald, Director of Public Policy and Communications, Scottish Financial Enterprise
  • Hamish Macdonell, Director of Strategic Engagement, Salmon Scotland
  • Angus Macpherson, CEO, Noble & Co
  • Naomi Magnus, Poicy Manager, Scottish Government
  • Tom Mallows, Partnerships Manager, Crown Estate Scotland
  • Ian Marr, Chief Executive, The Growth Partnership
  • Evelyn McDonald, CEO, Scottish EDGE
  • Gary McEwan, Chief Executive, Elevator
  • Sean McGrath, CEO, Entrepreneurial Scotland
  • Andrew McGee, Tech Venture Builder & Cluster Developer, Vivolution Limited
  • Maggie McGinlay, Chief Executive, ETZ Ltd
  • Alastair McInroy, CEO, Technology Scotland
  • Susan McKellar, Operations Manager, The Scottish Womens Convention
  • Alison McLaughlin, Scottish Agritourism
  • Andrew McRae, Scotland Policy Chair, Federation of Small Businesses
  • Gordon Morrison, CEO, Association of Scottish Visitor Attractions
  • Martyn O’Reilly, Trade Envoy to Poland, Scottish Government
  • Dougal Perman, Chair Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA)
  • Peter Proud, CEO, Forrit
  • Sara Rae, Assistant Principal: Enterprise and Skills West College Scotland
  • Dave Reay, Director of Edinburgh Climate Change Institute, University of Edinburgh
  • Adam Reid, DD Skills, Scottish Government
  • Sarah Roberts, Head of Procurement Team, Transport Scotland
  • Gus Robertson, SCDI
  • Richard Rollison, Director for International Trade and Investment, Scottish Government
  • Alastair Ross, Head of Public Policy, Association of British Insurers
  • Malcolm Roughead, CEO, VisitScotland
  • Susan Russell, Chair, Women In Tourism
  • Linda Scott, CMO, CodeClan
  • Lewis Shand Smith, Chair, Energy Consumers Commission
  • Stephen Sheal, Head of External Relations, Net Zero Technology Centre
  • Alastair Sim, Director, Universities Scotland
  • Carol Sinclair, Director, Sinclair Wilson Ltd
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland
  • David Smith, Director, Screen Scotland, Screen Scotland
  • Jayne Stuart, Head of Sustainability, ACOSVO
  • Jane Tattum, Senior Development Officer, HTSI
  • Celia Tennant, CEO, Inspiring Scotland
  • Sara Thiam, SCDI
  • Leon Thompson, Executive Director, UKHospitality Scotland
  • Sophy Walker, Practical Engagement Executive, The Federation of Independent Retailers (NFRN)
  • Alan Wells, Chief Executive Officer, Fisheries Management Scotland
  • Scott Wightman, Director of External Affair, Scottish Government


National Economic Forum

Back to top