Making Scotland’s Future: a vision for manufacturing

Information on a programme of work to strengthen Scotland’s manufacturing sector

Strategic Leadership Group for Manufacturing

Purpose: To identify key strategic opportunities for (and threats towards) the long-term growth, resilience, and wellbeing of the Scottish manufacturing sector.

The group is co-chaired by Kate Forbes, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary (designate) for Economy and Gaelic, together with Dr Hamid Mughal OBE, an ex-Global Director of Rolls Royce who now acts as a Special Advisor to the Principal of the University of Strathclyde on issues relating to Advanced Engineering and Manufacturing. As part of a widescale Refresh, aimed at further strengthening the industry voice on the group, 12 new industry members from a range of key sub-sectors were added to the SLG in 2022. See below for the list of current members, who were selected for the group on the basis of their knowledge, experience and insight. 


  • Kate Forbes – Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Gaelic: Co-chair
  • Dr Hamid G Mughal – Adviser, University of Strathclyde: Co-chair
  • Rodney Ayre – Senior Department Manager, Mitsubishi Electric
  • Steven Binnie – Managing Director, Iron and Pine
  • Colin Cook – Director of Economic Development, Scottish Government
  • Chris Courtney – Chief Executive Officer, National Manufacturing Institute Scotland (NMIS) 
  • Dr. Douglas Dawson – Chairman NTG Holdings
  • Aine Finlayson – Chief Operating Officer, PEAK Scientific
  • David Ford – Head of Economy and Insight, South of Scotland Enterprise
  • Gillian Galloway – Head of Innovation & Technology, Highlands and Islands Enterprise
  • John Glen – Managing Director, Bute Fabrics
  • Joe Hind – Policy Manager, Scotland Food and Drink
  • Hina Khan – Executive Director, Space Scotland
  • Suresh Kumar – Deputy Director: Industrial Transformation and Office of the Chief Scientific Adviser, Scottish Government
  • Denzil Lawrence – Research & Technology, Boeing
  • John MacSween – Managing Director, Malin Group
  • Jane Martin – Managing Director of Innovation and Investment
  • Gordon McGuinness – Director of Industries & Enterprise Networks, Skills Development Scotland: Associate member
  • Stewart Miller – Chief Executive Officer, The National Robotarium
  • Will Mitchell – Design Director, 4c Design
  • Alasdair Morrison – Head of Economy and Development, Renfrewshire Council
  • Neville Prentice – Senior Director for Service Development & Service Delivery, Skills Development Scotland
  • Keith Ridgway – University of Strathclyde; Executive Chair, National Manufacturing Institute Scotland
  • Angela Scott – Freelance; Founder of TC Biopharm
  • Yan Tiefenbrun – Managing Director, Castle Precision
  • Nik Willoughby – Chief Technology Officer, Horizon Proteins
Back to top