Joint Ministerial Committee (EU Negotiations) communique: 29 October 2020

The twenty-sixth Joint Ministerial Committee (EU Negotiations) met on 29 October 2020.

Attendees and apologies

The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

The attending Ministers were:

From the UK Government:

  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Rt Hon Michael Gove MP
  • Secretary of State for Scotland, Rt Hon Alister Jack MP
  • Secretary of State for Wales, Rt Hon Simon Hart MP
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP
  • Paymaster General, Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP
  • Deputy Chief Negotiator of Task Force Europe, Lindsay Appleby

From the Scottish Government:

  • Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, Michael Russell MSP
  • Minister for Europe and International Development, Jenny Gilruth MSP

From the Welsh Government:

  • Counsel General and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS

From the Northern Ireland Executive:

  • First Minister, Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA
  • Deputy First Minister, Michelle O’Neill MLA
  • Junior Minister Gordon Lyons MLA
  • Junior Minister Declan Kearney MLA

Items and actions

The Committee discussed the current status of negotiations with the EU, the implementation of the Northern Ireland Protocol, an update on transition readiness, and progress on the UK Internal Market Bill.


EU Strategy and Negotiations
Telephone: 0300 244 4000

Back to top