Independent review of Scottish aquaculture consenting

Report of the independent review of the planning and consenting process for Scottish aquaculture, jointly commissioned by Marine Scotland and The Crown Estate.

Appendix 1: List of consultees



Key contact


Local Authorities

Argyll and Bute Council

Richard Kerr

Senior Planning Officer

Mark Steward

Marine & Coastal Development Manager

The Highland Council

James Bromham

Aquaculture Development Officer

Colin Wishart

Principal Planner

Orkney Islands Council

Margaret Gillon

Planning Officer

Shetland Islands Council

Martin Holmes

Head of Marine Section

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council)

Morag Ferguson

Development Manager

Malcom Burr

Chief Executive Officer

Keith Bray

Head of Development Services

North Ayrshire Council

Ross Middleton

Case Officer

Regulators / statutory consultees

The Crown Estate

Alex Adrian

Aquaculture Operations Manager

Scottish Environment Protection Agency ( SEPA)

Douglas Sinclair

Aquaculture Specialist

Janet Davies

Specialist II (Water) for Aquaculture

Michael Montague

Specialist II (Water) for Aquaculture

Scottish Natural Heritage ( SNH)

Suzanne Henderson

Aquaculture advisor

Liam Wright

Policy and Advice Officer - Aquaculture

Cathy Tilbrook

Head of Coastal & Marine Ecosystems Unit

Marine Scotland Science

Dr. Matt Gubbins

Planning & Environmental Advice Programme Manager

Marine Scotland Science Fish Health Inspectorate

Charles Allan

Head of Fish health Inspectorate

Marine Scotland Science

Anna Donald

Aquaculture Planning Co-ordinator

Marine Scotland Licencing Operations Team

Mike Bland

Marine Licensing Section Head

Marine Scotland Planning and Policy

Sarah-Jane Smith

Licensing Policy Advisor

Northern Lighthouse Board

Steven Driver

Coastal Inspector

Maritime and Coastguard Agency ( MCA)

Helen Croxson

Navigation Safety Specialist Support

Highland and Island Enterprise

Iain Sutherland

Senior Development Manager - Food & Drink

Association of Salmon Fishery Boards

William Whyte

Chairman of Wester Ross DSFB

Craig MacIntyre

Clerk of Argyll Fisheries Trust

Peter Jarosv

Clerk of Wester Ross DSFB

Industry Organisations

Scottish Salmon Producers Organisation ( SSPO)

Scott Landsburgh

Chief Executive

David Sandison

Company Secretary

Jamie Smith

Stephen Bell

SSPO consultant

Association of Scottish Shellfish Growers ( ASSG)

Nick Lake

Chief Executive Officer

Scottish Shellfish Marketing Group ( SSMG)

Michael Tait


British Trout Association ( BTA)

Oliver Routledge


Seafood Shetland

Ruth Henderson

Chief Executive

Salmon Producers

Marine Harvest

Claire Lumley-Holmes

Environmental Analyst

Chris Read

Environmental Manager

Gareth Butterfield

Technical & Environmental Services Manager

Cooke Aquaculture Scotland

Chris Webb

Environmental and Development Manager

Wester Ross Fisheries Ltd

Gilpin Bradley

Managing Director

Scottish Sea Farms Ltd

Sheena Warnock

Environment Manager

Loch Duart Ltd

Sonja Brown

Environmental Services Manager

The Scottish Salmon Company

Rebecca Dean

Environmental Manager

Paul Condy

Penny Hawdon

Greig Seafood

Kaye Williamson

Environmental Controller

Trout Producers

Kames Fish Farming Ltd

Stuart Cannon

Managing Director

Dawnfresh Farming Ltd

Alison Hutchins

Technical Manager

Shellfish Producers

Loch Fyne Oysters

David Attwood

Aquaculture Director


Douglas Wilson


Fassfern Mussels Ltd

Shona McCauley


Isle of Mull Oysters

Nick Turnbull


Arisaig Mussels

Ian McKinnon


Shetland Mussels

Michael Tait

Owner and Operations Director


Back to top