Information relating to the Scottish Teachers’ Pension Scheme (STPS): FOI release

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002

Information requested

The names of all Independent Schools who:

1.Currently participate in, i.e. pay contributions to, the Scottish Teachers’ Pension Scheme (STPS)

2a. Have withdrawn from the STPS for future accrual, and

2b. their date of leaving

3a. Have notified SPPA of their intention to withdraw from the STPS at a future date.


1. Schools that currently participate in the Scottish Teachers’ Pension Scheme are listed below:
Albyn School
Ardvreck School
Balnacraig School
Belhaven Hill School
Belmont House School
Capability Scotland
Cargilfield School
Clifton Hall School Ltd
Craigclowan Preparatory School
Dollar Academy
East Park Home
Erskine Stewarts Melville Governing Council
Falkland House School
Fernhill School Ltd
George Heriot's Trust
Good Shepherd Centre
Gordonstoun School Limited
Harmeny Education Trust Ltd
High School of Dundee
Hillside School
Hutchesons Educational Trust
Jordanhill School
Kelvinside Academy W M T
Kibble Education and Care Centre
Kilgraston School
Lathallan Schools Ltd
Lomond School
Loretto School
Merchiston Castle School
Moore House Care and Education
Morrisons Academy
Northview House School
Notre Dame Centre
Oakwood Education Trust
Priory Group - Troup House School
Queen Victoria School
Rossie Secure Accommodation Services
Scottish Autism New Struan School
Scottish Centre for Children with Motor Impairment
Seamab School
Sight Scotland
Spark of Genius
St Columbas School Ltd
St Georges School for Girls
St Leonards School
St Margarets School for Girls
St Marys Kenmure
St Marys Music School
St Marys School
St Philips School
Strathallan School
Struthers Memorial Church
The Compass School
The Donaldsons Trust
The Edinburgh Academy
The Glasgow Academy
The High School of Glasgow
Voluntary Service Aberdeen
Wellington School

2a. and 2b. There are no notifications that any schools have withdrawn for future accrual specifically. The schools that have withdrawn from the scheme with their date of leaving are as follows:

Snowdon School Ltd


Springvale Education Trust



Aspire Scotland Ltd


Beaconhurst School


The New School


Drumduan School


Craigholme School


3a. There are no schools that have notified us of their intention to withdraw in the future.

About FOI
The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at


Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road

Back to top