European territorial cooperation programmes 2021-2027: consultation

Consultation on the design of the 2021 to 2027 European territorial cooperation (Interreg) programmes.

What are European Territorial Cooperation programmes?

European Territorial Cooperation (otherwise known as Interreg) programmes are EU funding programmes that give money to organisations from different countries to work together on a project.

These programmes cover different geographical areas and have different aims. Each of the projects funded by the programmes help the programme achieve its aims. The organisations doing the project must normally be from the geographical area covered by the programme.

Non-EU countries also take part in these programmes.

Scotland is currently part of 7 European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) programmes:

Atlantic Area

The Atlantic Area programme covers the following regions:

Country Regions covered
France Haute-Normandie, Basse Normandie, Pays-de-la Loire; Bretagne, Poitou-Charentes, Aquitaine.
Ireland Border, Midland and Western; Southern and Eastern.
Portugal Norte, Algarve, Centro, Lisboa, Alentejo, Açores, Madeira
Spain Galicia, Principado de Asturias, Cantabria, Navarra, País Vasco, Andalucia (Huelva, Cádiz and Sevilla), Islas Canarias.
United Kingdom Cumbria, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire and Bristol/Bath area, Dorset and Somerset, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, Devon, West Wales and The Valleys, East Wales, South Western Scotland, Highlands and Islands, Northern Ireland.

The current Atlantic Area programme has the following aims:

  • Stimulating innovation and competitiveness;
  • Fostering resource efficiency;
  • Strengthening the territory's resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin;
  • Enhancing biodiversity and the natural and cultural assets.

Interreg Europe

Interrreg Europe covers the whole of the EU as well as Switzerland and Norway.

The current Interreg Europe programme aims to help regional and local governments across Europe to develop and deliver better policy.

North Sea

The North Sea programme covers the following regions:

Country Regions covered
Belgium Antwerp, Oost-Vlaanderen, West-Vlaanderen.
Denmark Sjælland, Syddanmark, Midtjylland, Nordjylland.
Germany Bremen, Hamburg, Braunschweig, Hannover, Lüneburg, Weser-Ems, Schleswig-Holstein.
Netherlands Groningen, Friesland, Drenthe, Overijssel, Flevoland, Noord-Holland, Zuid-Holland, Zeeland.
Norway Oslo Og Akershus, Hedmark Og Oppland, Sør-Østlandet, Agder Og Rogaland, Vestlandet, Trøndelag, Nord-Norge.
Sweden Sydsverige (Skåne län), Norra Mellansverige (Värmlands län), Småland med öarna (Kronobergs län) Västsverige.
United Kingdom Tees Valley, Durham, Northumberland Tyne and Wear, Northern Lincolnshire, Yorkshire, Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Rutland and Northamptonshire, Lincolnshire, East Anglia, Essex, Kent, North Eastern Scotland, Eastern Scotland, Highlands and Islands.

The current North Sea programme has the following aims:

  • Strengthening research, technological development and innovation;
  • Preserving and protecting the environment and promoting resource efficiency;
  • Promoting climate change adaptation, risk prevention and management;
  • Green transport and mobility.

North West Europe

The North West Europe programme covers the following regions:


Regions covered


All regions


Île de France, Champagne-Ardenne

Picardie, Haute-Normandie, Centre

Basse-Normandie, Bourgogne

Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Lorraine

Alsace, Franche-Comté, Pays de la Loire, Bretagne.


Stuttgart, Karlsruhe

Freiburg, Tübingen, Oberfranken, Mittelfranken, Unterfranken, Schwaben

Darmstadt, Gießen, Kassel, Düsseldorf

Köln, Münster, Detmold, Arnsberg

Koblenz, Trier, Rheinhessen-Pfalz



All regions.


All regions.


Overijssel, Gelderland, Flevoland

Utrecht, Noord-Holland, Zuid-Holland

Zeeland, Noord-Brabant, Limburg (NL)


All regions.

United Kingdom

All regions.

The current North West Europe programme supports the following aims:

  • Innovation;
  • Low carbon;
  • Resource and materials efficiency.

Northern Ireland-Ireland-Scotland (otherwise known as Interreg VA)

The Northern Ireland-Ireland-Scotland programme covers the following regions:

Country Regions covered
Ireland Border.
United Kingdom Dumfries & Galloway, East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire mainland, South Ayrshire, Lochaber, Skye & Lochalsh, Arran & Cumbrae, Argyll & But, Eilean Siar (Western Isles), Belfast, Outer Belfast, East of Northern Ireland, North of Northern Ireland, West and South of Northern Ireland.

The Northern Ireland-Ireland-Scotland programme aims to support:

  • Research & innovation for cross-border enterprise development;
  • Environmental initiatives;
  • Sustainable transport projects;
  • Health & Social Care services on a cross-border basis.

Northern Periphery and Arctic

The Northern Periphery and Arctic programme covers the following regions:

Country Regions covered
Faroe Islands All regions.
Finland Länsi-Suomi (Keski-Suomi), Pohjois-ja Itä-Suomi.
Greenland All regions.
Iceland All regions.
Ireland Border, Midland and Western (County Donegal, County Galway, County Leitrim, County Mayo, County Sligo).
Norway Vestlandet, Trondelag, Nord-Norge Svalbard and Jan Mayen.
Sweden Mellersta Norrland, Övre Norrland.
United Kingdom Northern Ireland (excluding Belfast and Outer Belfast), South Western Scotland (Dumfries and Galloway), Highlands and Islands.

The current Northern Periphery and Arctic programme aims to:

  • use innovation to maintain and develop robust and competitive communities;
  • promote entrepreneurship to realise the potential of the programme area's competitive advantage;
  • foster energy-secure communities through promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency;
  • protect, promote and develop cultural and natural heritage.


Urbact covers the whole of the EU as well as Norway and Switzerland. It aims to help cities to work together and develop integrated solutions to common urban challenges by networking, learning from one another's experiences and drawing lessons from and identifying good practices to improve urban policies.



Back to top