Emergency department capacity management: guidance

Guidance on developing a standard operating procedure to manage capacity and avoid crowding in the emergency departments.

Appendix. Membership of ED Capacity Management Expert Group

Dr Jennifer Armstrong Chair, ED Capacity Management Expert Group;
Medical Director, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Dr Dan Beckett Consultant Acute Physician, NHS Forth Valley; Chief Medical Officer Advisor for Acute and General Medicine
Dr Tim Parke ED Consultant, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde; representing College of Emergency Medicine
Dr Dave Caesar ED Clinical Director, NHS Lothian
Dr Shobhan Thakore Clinical Lead, Emergency Medicine, NHS Tayside
Dr Nicola Irvine Clinical Lead, Acute Medicine, NHS Tayside
Dr David Raeside Consultant Physician in Respiratory and General Medicine, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Professor Jim Ferguson NHS Grampian/Clinical Lead at Scottish Centre for Telehealth and Telecare
Dr Kerry Mathewson GP, NHS Forth Valley; Clinical Advisor to Unscheduled Care National Programme
Dr Simon MacKenzie Medical Director, St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Anne Harkness Director of Emergency Care and Medical Services/Unscheduled Care Executive Lead, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Alan Hunter NHSScotland Director of Performance, Scottish Government
Martin Hopkins Programme Director, Whole System Flow Programme/Head of Performance Support, Scottish Government
Helen Maitland Unscheduled Care Director, Scottish Government

The Expert Group consulted with:

  • the Unscheduled Care Programme Board
  • the National Unscheduled Care Learning Workshop
  • national unscheduled care executive leads
  • the Unscheduled Care Steering Group
  • a national learning workshop on the 6 Essential Actions to Improving Unscheduled Care.
  • NHS Board representatives: ED capacity management meeting


Email: Alistair Pollock, Alistair.Pollock@Gov.Scot

Back to top