Education Recovery additional new funding 2020-2021: local authority allocations

Details of funding allocations of £45 million to allow local authorities to deploy more support to their schools and families as they deal with the challenges of remote learning during lockdown.

This additional funding may be used flexibly by local authorities for the following purposes:

  • to employ a variety of staff to meet the needs of children and young people in their local areas. This may include, for example, teachers, classroom support staff, facilities management staff, staff to support any wider rollout of testing initiatives to promote safety in school (if necessary and applicable), and administrative staff to relieve burdens on senior management teams
  • for the provision of additional digital devices and connectivity solutions for disadvantaged children and young people who still need them, drawing on local authorities’ strengthened understanding as a result of engaging with families on digital inclusion work to date
  • for the provision of additional targeted support for those families at particular risk of hardship. It is expected that this will involve interventions which will directly support individuals and families to engage effectively with remote learning, particularly in situations where vulnerability and deprivation are factors. This could include provision for children with additional support for learning. This funding can also be used for additional or enhanced tutoring and mentoring programmes which help support vulnerable and disadvantaged children and young people, including those with care experience, and their families, to engage better with education


Local authority Total (£000)
Aberdeen City 1,296
Aberdeenshire 2,093
Angus 943
Argyll and Bute 683
Clackmannanshire 440
Dumfries and Galloway 1,360
Dundee City 1,347
East Ayrshire 1,189
East Dunbartonshire 813
East Lothian 859
East Renfrewshire 765
City of Edinburgh 2,683
Na h-Eileanan Siar 233
Falkirk 1,345
Fife 3,363
Glasgow City 5,835
Highland 2,048
Inverclyde 717
Midlothian 778
Moray 760
North Ayrshire 1,248
North Lanarkshire 3,204
Orkney Islands 197
Perth and Kinross 1,123
Renfrewshire 1,450
Scottish Borders 955
Shetland Islands 214
South Ayrshire 922
South Lanarkshire 2,806
Stirling 751
West Dunbartonshire 897
West Lothian 1,683
All local authorities 45,000
Back to top