Community Wealth Building Bill Steering Group: terms of reference

Terms of reference for the Community Wealth Building Bill Steering Group.


The Community Wealth Building (CWB) Bill Steering Group will support the delivery of the 2021 Programme for Government commitment to introduce primary legislation on CWB during this parliamentary session. Key activities are:

  • facilitate shared learning on CWB progress and action in Scotland
  • explore opportunities, challenges and barriers to advancement of CWB that legislation or other action by SG can address
  • discuss and review a range of emerging ideas that may form part of the Bill
  • act as the main sounding board and collaboration space for development of the legislation
  • any other issues pertaining to CWB deemed relevant by Chair

Chair and membership

The Minister for Public Finance, Planning and Community Wealth will chair meetings of the Group until, at least, detailed legislative proposals are being discussed.  At that point, a senior SG official may take on the role of chair.  

There will be a core membership of the Group augmented by membership drawn from relevant SG officials. Inaugural membership will be: 

  • Martin Avila - Chief Executive,  Community Enterprise in Scotland
  • Colin Borland - Director of Devolved Nations, Federation of Small Business 
  • Nikki Bridle - Chief Executive, Clackmannanshire Council
  • Malcolm Burr - Chief Executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
  • Gillian Cameron - Programme Manager, Supplier Development Scotland
  • Anthea Coulter - Chief Executive, Clackmannanshire Third Sector Interface (CTSI)
  • Rob Davidson - Strategy Manager, Community Wealth Building at South of Scotland Enterprise
  • James Dunphy - Director of Access, Learning and Outcomes, Scottish Funding Council Scottish Funding Council 
  • Shona Dunsmore - Representative of Business Services Association 
  • Roz Foyer - General Secretary, Scottish TUC
  • Anna Fowlie - Chief Executive, Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO)
  • Euan Leitch - Chief Executive, Scotland’s Regeneration Forum (SURF)
  • Ian Manson - Chief Executive, Clyde Gateway
  • Dona Milne - Director of Public Health, NHS Lothian 
  • Barbara Morton - Director, Sustainable Procurement
  • Caitriona McAuley - Head of Service (Economic Development and Regeneration), North Ayrshire Council
  • Councillor Gail MacGregor - Environment and Economy Spokesperson, COSLA (Scotland)
  • Valerie McNiece – Programme Manager, Glasgow City Council 
  • Mags McSporran - Head of Social Enterprise Development, Highlands and Island Enterprise
  • Sinead O’Donnell – Project Manager, Fife Council
  • Jackie Smith - Representative of Business Services Association
  • Duncan Thorp - Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Social Enterprise Scotland
  • Morag Watson - Director of Policy, Scottish Renewables
  • Naila Wood - Head of Social Impact, Balfour Beatty
  • Darah Zahran - Social Economy Manager, Scottish Enterprise
  • Uzma Khan, Vice Principal Economic Development and Innovation, Deputy Chief Operating Officer of University of Glasgow


The Bill Steering Group will meet on a six weekly basis. The Secretariat may convene additional meetings or agree items by correspondence as deemed necessary. The work of the group will commence in spring 2022. 

Back to top