Community Wealth Building Bill Steering Group


The Community Wealth Building (CWB) Bill Steering Group will support the delivery of the 2021 Programme for Government commitment to introduce primary legislation on CWB during this parliamentary session.

The group is made up of representatives from trade organisations, business, academia, public sector and trade unions. Considerations for Community Wealth Building legislation will include how to harness the economic leverage of local ‘anchor’ organisations (such as local councils, health, universities, colleges, housing associations, or large local private sector employers) to tackle long standing systematic challenges and structural inequalities within our communities and support Scottish Government’s Net Zero ambitions.

The group first met in May 2022.

Key activities and remit of the group are to:

  • facilitate shared learning on CWB progress and action in Scotland
  • explore opportunities, challenges and barriers to advancement of CWB that legislation or other action by SG can address
  • discuss and review a range of emerging ideas that may form part of the Bill
  • act as the main sounding board and collaboration space for development of the legislation
  • any other issues pertaining to CWB deemed relevant by Chair


The Community Wealth Building Bill Steering Group will be chaired by the Minister for Public Finance, Planning and Community Wealth. Membership of the group draws on trade unions, businesses, academia, public sector and leadership bodies and is set out below:

  • Martin Avila - Chief Executive,  Community Enterprise in Scotland
  • Colin Borland - Director of Devolved Nations, Federation of Small Business
  • Nikki Bridle - Chief Executive, Clackmannanshire Council
  • Malcolm Burr - Chief Executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
  • Gillian Cameron - Programme Manager, Supplier Development Scotland
  • Anthea Coulter - Chief Executive, Clackmannanshire Third Sector Interface (CTSI)
  • Rob Davidson - Strategy Manager, Community Wealth Building at South of Scotland Enterprise
  • Shona Dunsmore - Representative of Business Services Association
  • Roz Foyer - General Secretary, Scottish TUC
  • Anna Fowlie - Chief Executive, Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO)
  • Euan Leitch - Chief Executive, Scotland’s Regeneration Forum (SURF)
  • Uzma Khan - Vice Principal Economic Development & Innovation and Deputy Chief Operating Officer & Director of Strategic Planning, University of Glasgow
  • Alastair Macdonald - Deputy Director, Policy, Scottish Funding Council
  • Councillor Gail MacGregor - Environment and Economy Spokesperson, COSLA (Scotland)
  • Neil McInroy - Chair, Economic Development Association Scotland (EDAS) and NSET Inclusive Business Model Review Group
  • Martin McKay - Chief Executive, Clyde Gateway
  • Emma McMullen - Senior Manager, Economic Policy, North Ayrshire Council
  • Valerie McNiece - Programme Manager, Glasgow City Council
  • Mags McSporran - Head of Social Enterprise Development, Highlands and Island Enterprise
  • Dona Milne - Director of Public Health, NHS Lothian
  • Barbara Morton - Director, Sustainable Procurement
  • Sinead O’Donnell - Project Manager, Fife Council
  • Duncan Thorp - Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Social Enterprise Scotland
  • Morag Watson - Director of Policy, Scottish Renewables
  • Naila Wood - Head of Social Impact, Balfour Beatty
  • Darah Zahran - Social Economy Manager, Scottish Enterprise


Community Wealth Building Bill Steering Group: terms of reference

Back to top