Rwanda Non-Communicable Diseases Programme: call for proposals

This is a call for proposals and application form aimed at organisations who would like to deliver a grant to support community palliative care in Rwanda on behalf of the Scottish Government. The deadline for applications is 5 July 2024.

Criteria For The Evaluation of Applications

Applications will be assessed against the criteria in the below:

The following criteria is a guide for how applications will be evaluated and the weighting each section carries.

Criteria A (Weighting 20%): Knowledge and Understanding

A1. The priorities and requirements of the SG’s International Development strategy;

A2. Good practice in international development, including the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and Scottish Government International Development Principles;

A3. Clear understanding and experience of NCD policy and delivery in Low Income Contexts

A4. Progress and implementation of PEN and PEN Plus in Rwanda.

A5. Country specific health development priorities and frameworks as well as national Government policies in Rwanda including palliative care.

A6. Structure of health systems in Rwanda.

Criteria B (Weighting 30%): Delivery Expertise

B1. Delivery experience in Sub-Saharan Africa, ideally in Rwanda

B2. Strong technical expertise, experience, and capability in implementation of palliative care projects in Rwanda

B3. Strong technical expertise in safeguarding and developing theories of change in health contexts, ideally in NCDs and/or palliative care

B4. Experience and expertise in gender mainstreaming, power equalisation and sustainability.

Criteria C (Weighting 20%): Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning

C1. Expertise in developing monitoring and evaluation processes, which take ethical practices into account in development health contexts

C2. Strong technical expertise, experience, and capability in evaluation and operational research

Criteria D (Weighting 15%): Quality Control and Oversight

D1. Management and governance arrangements, including quality control mechanisms

Criteria E (Weighting 15%): Risk Management

E1. Processes to identify, assess, and mitigate potential risks throughout the lifecycle of the project.

Criteria F (Pass or Fail): Climate Obligation

F1. Agreement to delivering this grant in line with Scottish Minister’s sustainability objectives.

F2. Agreement to monitor emissions in your supply chain for the delivery of this grant, reducing unsustainable business travel undertaken to service the grant, disposal of electronic hardware/IT equipment and the use of renewably generated electricity where possible.

Criteria G (Pass or Fail): Fair Work First

G1. Provide statement verifying your Fair Work First commitment and confirmation this has been developed in agreement with the workforce.

Criteria H (Pass or Fail): Cyber Security

H1. A completed Supplier Assurance Questionnaire



Back to top