Transitioning to carbon neutrality

Remit and initial Commission members announced.

The first members of Scotland’s Just Transition Commission have been announced, alongside publication of the body’s remit.

The Commission will look at how to maximise the social and economic opportunities offered by moving to a carbon neutral economy and will be chaired by Professor Jim Skea.

Announcing the membership while attending the 24th United Nations Climate Change Conference of the Parties (COP) in Poland, Environment Secretary Roseanna Cunningham said:

“We are committed to achieving carbon neutrality while growing a sustainable economy that improves the opportunities, life chances and wellbeing of every citizen of Scotland, and I am absolutely determined that this will be done in a way that is socially inclusive.

“That is why I previously announced that Professor Jim Skea would chair a Commission to explore how the transition to carbon neutrality can help us meet our other economic and social ambitions.  I am now delighted to confirm the appointment of the Commission’s initial members.   

“We are clear that no-one should be left behind in our move to a carbon neutral economy and that this should deliver fair work, and I look forward to working with the commission over the next two years to make this a reality.”


Just Transition Commission remit

Additional members will be appointed in the coming weeks.  The intention is for the Commission to include representation from industry, business, trades unions, and environmental groups as well as academic experts.

Charlie Hartley: Charlotte is a member of 2050 Climate Group. The 2050 Climate Group engages, educates and empowers Scotland’s young people to take action on climate change.  The Group’s ambition is to start a social movement of passionate, active young people who are equipped with climate change knowledge and leadership skills so that our generation can lead the way to a sustainable, low carbon society. Based in Aberdeen, Charlotte supports the delivery of the Young Leaders Development Programme and is involved with the Group’s engagement with the oil and gas industry. Charlotte works for Pale Blue Dot Energy, a catalyst business who are leading the Acorn Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) and Hydrogen project in Aberdeenshire. Charlotte also sits on the committee as Treasurer for the Energy Institute Young Professionals Network in Aberdeen and has an MA in Economics.

Professor Karen Turner: Karen is founding Director of the University of Strathclyde’s Centre for Energy Policy. The Centre conducts internationally leading research on the public policy challenges of decarbonising our economy. Her work focuses on understanding how a just transition may be delivered, and addresses key questions about distributional effects, employment and GDP.

Karen has a number of advisory roles with national and international policy bodies. She has contributed to the CCUS Cost Challenge Taskforce, has a leading role on the Royal Society of Edinburgh’s inquiry on ‘Scotland’s Energy Future’, leads the ‘Energy, People and Society’ theme across the Scottish Energy Technology Partnership, was a co-author on the European Zero Emissions Platform report ‘Role of CCUS in a Below 2 Degrees Scenario’. She is currently principal investigator on a National Centre for Energy Systems Integration flexible fund project and was previously one of six ESRC UK Climate Change Leadership Fellows.

Tom Shields: Tom is CEO of Spring Rise, a consultancy providing support to chemical processing, waste recycling and renewable energy industries. He was previously the Managing Director of KemFine UK Ltd., a speciality chemicals business, and served as the Chairman of the Scottish Enterprise Forth Valley Board. 

He currently sits on the UK Government's Carbon Capture, Usage and Storage Council and is acting chair of the Chemical Sciences Scotland Industry Leadership Group.


Media enquiries

Back to top