Final countries taken off the red list

Vaccinated traveller policy expanded.

The final seven countries have been removed from the international travel red list, meaning travellers to the UK from those destinations will no longer have to stay in hotel quarantine for 10 days on arrival.

The decision was made on a four nation basis and will take effect at 04:00 on 1 November. It affects arrivals from Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru and Venezuela.

In addition vaccine certificates from a further 35 countries and territories will be recognised to allow quarantine-free travel to Scotland. Going forward this list will be reviewed on a regular basis.

Despite no countries remaining on the red list from 1 November, the policy is continuing and some managed quarantine capacity will stay in place in Scotland in order to react to any change in risk assessment that would see a country added to the red list. 

Transport Minister Graeme Dey said:

“Today’s decision is a further sign of the success of the Scottish Government’s vaccination programme and will enable the travel and tourism sector to take another step back towards normal operations.

“However, the pandemic is not over. The situation will be closely monitored and regularly reviewed and If the situation demands it we will not hesitate to re-impose restrictions on international travel to safeguard the health of our citizens and protect Scotland’s recovery.”


The 35 countries and territories to be added to the eligible vaccinated traveller policy are:

Angola, Anguilla, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Eswatini, Gibraltar, Guyana, Honduras, Lebanon, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mongolia, Nepal, the Occupied Palestinian Territories, Panama, Peru, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda and Uruguay.

From 4am on Sunday 31 October, fully vaccinated travellers returning to the Scotland will be able to a take a lateral flow test on the second day after their arrival, instead of the more expensive PCR test.

Unvaccinated travellers, or travellers from countries where certification is not yet recognised, must self-isolate for 10 days on arrival and take PCR tests on day two and day eight.


Media enquiries

Back to top