Canada and the Azores added to travel green list

Expanded list includes Denmark and Switzerland while Thailand goes red.

More countries – including Canada and the Azores – have been added to the green ‘traffic light’ list for international travel.

Other countries turning green include Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Switzerland.

Additions to the red list include Montenegro and Thailand.

Fully vaccinated people returning amber and green list countries are not required to isolate on return.

The changes come into effect from 4am on Monday 30 August and were agreed following scientific analysis of the latest data.

In line with current guidance, individuals should not travel to red list countries on holiday, or for any leisure purposes.

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport Michael Matheson said:

“The latest changes are welcome for Scots with loved ones in Canada but once again show that international travel remains challenging.

“Any relaxations to travel restrictions have only been made possible due to the huge success of the Scottish Government’s domestic vaccination programme.

“It is vitally important we protect that progress through continued vigilance on importation, and we continue to urge caution given the risks caused by variants of concern.”


Additions to Green list (from amber):

  • the Azores (Portugal)
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Switzerland

 Additions to Red list (from amber):

  • Montenegro
  • Thailand


Media enquiries

Back to top