Victims Taskforce

Role of the group

The Victims Taskforce has been established to improve support, advice and information for victims of crime. The primary role of the Taskforce is to co-ordinate and drive action to improve the experiences of victims and witnesses within the criminal justice system, whilst ensuring a fair justice system for those accused of crime.

As part of this, the Taskforce will monitor, support and facilitate the delivery of the following Programme for Government commitments:

  • reduce and, where possible, eliminate the need for victims to have to retell their story to different organisations as they look for help, working with Victim Support Scotland and others.
  • widen the range of serious crimes where the victim can make a statement to the court about how the crime has affected them, consulting on specific details by early 2019.
  • ensure victims and their families have better information and greater support ahead of prison release arrangements.
  • increase the openness and transparency of the parole system
  • establish, by Spring 2019, a new support service for families bereaved by murder and culpable homicide
  • improve the experience of victims of rape and sexual assault

The Taskforce is co-chaired by the Justice Secretary and Lord Advocate James Wolffe QC, head of Scotland's system of criminal prosecution. The taskforce  brings together senior decision-makers from justice agencies, the legal profession, academia and the voluntary sector, including direct representation of victims.

The Taskforce will meet quarterly until the end of the parliamentary term in 2021.






Humza Yousaf MSP

Scottish Government - Cabinet Secretary for Justice (Co-chair)

James Wolffe QC

Scottish Government - Lord Advocate (Co-chair)

Neil Rennick

Scottish Government, Director of Justice

Michael Chalmers

Scottish Government, Director of Children and Families

Iain Livingstone

Police Scotland, Chief Constable

David Harvie

COPFS, Crown Agent

Eric McQueen

Scottish Courts and Tribunal Service, Chief Executive

Colin McConnell

Scottish Prisons Service, Chief Executive

John Watt

Parole Board, Chair

Pauline Proudfoot

Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration, Operational Development Manager

Karyn McCluskey

Chief Executive, Community Justice Scotland

Kathryn Lindsay

Scottish Social Work (Head of Children, Families & Justice at Angus Council)

Kate Wallace

Victim Support Scotland, Chief Executive

Marsha Scott

Women’s Aid, Chief Executive

Sandy Brindley

Rape Crisis Scotland, Chief Executive

Mhairi McGowan

Head of ASSIST and Domestic Abuse services

Mary Glasgow

Children 1st, Chief Executive

Victims Organisations Collaboration Forum Scotland

Rotating seat

Lorna Jack

Law Society of Scotland, Chief Executive

Angela Grahame

Faculty of Advocates, Vice-Dean

Sarah Armstrong

Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research, Director

Lynn Burns

Victim’s Voice