Scottish Education Council


The Scottish Education Council is the key forum for oversight of improvement in education in Scotland, as defined by the National Improvement Framework.

Its role is to work collaboratively to ensure that there is a system-wide focus on improvement and to agree priorities for improvement activity and delivery. The Scottish Education Council has been paused since early 2020 following the establishment of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group as an early response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Council will reconvene on 8 October 2021. As with before, the Council will meet every two months. 


As part of its re-establishment, the Council’s remit is currently being revised and will be updated in due course.


  • Shirley-Anne Somerville, Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills - Chair
  • Councillor Stephen McCabe, COSLA Children and Young People spokesperson 
  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government 
  • Fiona Robertson, Scottish Qualifications Authority Chief Executive 
  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, The Educational Institute of Scotland
  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive of Education Scotland and Chief Inspector of Education 
  • Pauline Stephen, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland 
  • Margaret Wilson, Chair of the National Parent Forum of Scotland 
  • Professor David Smith, Chair of the Scottish Council of Deans of Education 
  • Carrie Lindsay, President of the Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES) 
  • Grace Vickers, SOLACE lead for Children and Young People
  • Audrey May, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, Tayside Collaborative
  • Helen Budge, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, The Northern Alliance
  • Dr Gillian Brydson, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, South West Collaborative
  • Fiona Robertson, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, South East Alliance
  • Lorraine Sanda, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, Forth Valley and West Lothian Collaborative
  • Tony McDaid, Regional Improvement Collaborative Lead, The West Partnership
  • Professor Mark Priestley, University of Stirling 
  • John Gallacher, Regional Manager, UNISON Scotland
  • Liam Fowley, Vice Chair of Scottish Youth Parliament 
  • Dr Colin Morrison, Co-Director of Children’s Parliament 
  • Juliet Harris, Director of Together (Scottish Alliance for Children’s Rights)
  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland 
  • Shona Struthers, Chief Executive, Colleges Scotland