National Advisory Committee for Neurological Conditions


The National Advisory Committee for Neurological Conditions (NACNC) was established in 2016 to drive improvements in the care, treatment and support available for people living with neurological conditions.

Its remit is to:

  • provide expert advice on delivery of the National Action Plan for Neurological Conditions, offering views on SG strategic decisions and suggestions on implementation approaches
  • contribute to evaluation of the National Action Plan’s implementation, progress and outcomes
  • advise SG Health and Social Care Directorates on issues relating to neurological conditions across Scotland, including the Waiting Times Improvement Plan, HIS Standards, Scottish Access Collaborative, and Modern Outpatient Programmes
  • promote sharing of best practice and ensure appropriate links with the wider neurological community

National action plan on neurological conditions

We have consulted on a draft national action plan on neurological conditions and are preparing to launch the final plan later this year.


  • Dr Richard Davenport (Chair), NHS Lothian
  • Stephanie Fraser (Deputy Co-chair), Bobath Scotland
  • Susan Walker (Deputy Co-chair), NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Anita Stewart, Scottish Government
  • Rebecca Duff, Neurological Alliance of Scotland
  • Tanith Muller, Neurological Alliance of Scotland
  • Dr Jenny Preston, NHS Ayrshire and Arran / IJBs
  • Gerard Gahagan, Scottish Government, National Implementation Lead