International Council of Education Advisers (ICEA)


The International Council of Education Advisers (ICEA) was established in 2016 to advise Ministers on how best to achieve excellence and equity in our Scottish education system.

The ICEA's role is:

  • to advise on the Scottish Government's priorities for education and ensure policy and practice
  • to ensure the actions set out in the Delivery Plan published in June 2016 are influenced by international best practice
  • to advise on the reporting and planning cycle of the national improvement framework and improvement plan

The ICEA has two formal meetings a year, but will take forward a workplan between meetings. During the COVID-19 pandemic the Council met virtually four times and, in December 2020, the ICEA published its second formal report .


The membership of the ICEA draws upon world-leading education and business experts with a range of knowledge and extensive experience of advising educators and governments on education leadership, school improvement and reform.

  • Professor Carol Campbell - Professor of Leadership and Educational Change and Director of the Knowledge Network for Applied Education Research (KNAER) at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto

  • Professor Christopher Chapman - Chair of Educational Policy and Practice at the Robert Owen Centre, University of Glasgow and Co-Director of What Works Scotland
  • Professor Graham Donaldson - education consultant and international adviser to the OECD

  • Dr Avis Glaze - Dr Avis Glaze - Founder and CEO, Edu-quest International Inc. The first recipient of Scotland’s Robert Owen Award and one of Canada’s outstanding educators

  • Professor Andy Hargreaves - Chair of CHENINE (Change, Engagement and Innovation in Education) at the University of Ottawa in Canada. Retired as the Thomas More Brennan Chair in the Lynch School of Education, Boston, in 2018. Former president of the International Congress for School Effectiveness and Improvement (ICSEI) and founder of the Atlantic Rim Collaboratory (ARC)

  • Professor Alma Harris - Chair of Education at Swansea University and former Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy at the Department of Education, University of Bath

  • Dr Pak Tee Ng - Associate Professor at the National Institute of Education, Singapore, previously an Associate Dean of Leadership and Learning, and Head of the Policy and Leadership Studies Academic Group at the National Institute of Education, Singapore

  • Professor Pasi Sahlberg - Finnish educator, author and scholar. Professor of Education Policy at the University of New South Wales

  • Professor Allison Skerrett - Professor in Language and Literacy Studies and Director of Education for the College of Education at the University of Texas in Austin

  • Lindsey Watt OBE - retired headteacher with nearly 40 years of teaching experience

Related information:


First meeting, Edinburgh, 31 August and 1 September 2016: £36,586.36
Second meeting, Edinburgh, 27 February and 28 February 2017: £24,452.11
Third meeting, Edinburgh and Glasgow, 20 September and 21 September 2017: £23,874.19
Fourth meeting, Inverness, 26 and 27 April 2018: £23,224.47
Fifth meeting, Glasgow and Edinburgh, 19 and 20 September 2018: £23,120.24
Sixth meeting, Dundee and Edinburgh, 6 and 7 February 2019: £29,181.20