Digital Champions


The Digital Champions Development Programme was formed in October 2013 to inspire public sector leaders about the transformational potential of digital tools and technology.

The programme is designed to give leaders the knowledge, skills and confidence to champion digital technology within their organisations and to encourage innovative use of digital technology across public services in Scotland.

More than 120 public sector Directors and Chief Executives have already participated in the programme.


The members currently active on the programme are divided into Cohorts 7 and 8:

Cohort 7

  • Pat Armstrong — Chief Executive, ACOSVO
  • Sally Loudon — Chief Executive, COSLA
  • Anne Slater — Head of Public Services, National Records of Scotland
  • Sheila Duffy — Chief Executive, ASH Scotland
  • Angela Clements — Director of Enterprise, Calmac Ferries Ltd
  • Nicola Catterall — Chief Operating Officer, National Galleries of Scotland
  • Ken Neilson — Director of Corporate Services, VisitScotland
  • David McGown — Director of Prevention and Protection, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
  • Ross Johnston — Head of Operations, Scottish Natural Heritage
  • Allan Johnstone — Acting Chief Executive, Voluntary Action Scotland
  • David Cameron — Director of Corporate Services, Cairngorms National Park
  • Brian Robson — Medical Director, Health Improvement Scotland
  • Lynne Huckerby — Business Change Lead, NHS 24
  • Jane Weir — Head of Marketing and Digital Services, NHS Health Scotland
  • Morag Hearty — Programme Manager, South Lanarkshire Health & Social Care
  • Matthew Neilson — Customer Engagement and Development Director, NHS National Services
  • Alan Johnston — Deputy Director, Scottish Government
  • Lorna Gibbs — Chief Executive, Disclosure Scotland
  • Hugh Gillies — Director of Trunk Roads, Transport Scotland
  • Sharon Beattie — Head of HR, East Renfrewshire Council
  • Louise Matheson — Property and Architectural Services Manager, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • Angela Paterson — Head of Resources, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • Lorraine Laidlaw — Communities Directorate, Angus Council
  • Ian Aitken — General Manager, NHS Forth Valley
  • Stewart Clanachan — Human Resources Manager, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • Graeme Smith — Director of Modernisation, NHS Grampian

Cohort 8

  • Kirsten Urquhart — Information Services Director, Young Scot
  • Rosemary Agnew — Scottish Information Commissioner, Scottish Information Commissioner
  • Marie Louise Fox — Director of Operations, Scottish Legal Aid Board
  • Elliot Jackson — Depute Chief Executive Officer, Childrens Hearing Scotland
  • Andrew McSherry — Head of ICT, Scottish Canals
  • Alan Stevenson — Marketing and Comms Director, Volunteer Scotland
  • Stuart McGregor — Chief Officer Finance, SEPA
  • Fiona Martin — Chief Office People and Property, SEPA
  • Eileen Scouller — Information Systems Manager, Children 1st
  • Jane Macdonald — Head of Portfolio, Planning and Budget, Scottish Natural Heritage
  • Steve Grimmond — Chief Executive, Fife Council
  • Carole Kelly — Chief Executive Officer, Positive Realities
  • Anne Sweetin — Business Development Manager, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • Gillian Morrison — Executive Director, Orkney Island Council
  • Gregory Colgan — Head of Customer Services and IT, Dundee City Council
  • Craig McArthur — Head of Finance and ICT, East Ayrshire Council
  • Alistair Shaw — Head of Housing, West Lothian Council
  • Fiona Walker — Head of People and Transformation, North Ayrshire Council
  • Jonathan Monk — Director of IT, Universtity of Dundee
  • Ray McHugh — Director of Marketing and Comms, University of Strathclyde
  • Andy Robertson — Director of IT, NHS National Services Scotland
  • Rami Okasha — Executive Director, Care Inspectorate
  • Jonanthan Procter — IM&T Director/ E-Health Lead, NHS Forth Valley
  • Paul Schofield — eHealth Programme Manager, NHS Lothian
  • Martyn Ware — Head of Assessment, Scottish Qualifications Authority
  • Charles Keegan — Registration and Transformation Director, Registers of Scotland