Deer Working Group


The Deer Working Group is an independent working group appointed by Scottish Ministers in October 2017, to recommend changes to ensure effective deer management in Scotland that safeguards public interests and promotes the sustainable management of wild deer. 

Final report 

The Group submitted its final report to the Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform, Roseanna Cunningham MSP, on 19 December 2019. The Scottish Government will give a formal response to the Group's recommendations in due course.


  • Simon Pepper OBE (Chair) (Died 18 September 2018)
  • Andrew Barbour (Acting Chair from 18 September 2018)
  • Dr Jayne Glass
  • Robin Callander

External Advisers

  • Richard Cooke (until 6 September 2019)
  • Malcolm Combe