Short-term Lets Stakeholder Working Group: updated terms of reference

Short-term Lets Stakeholder Working Group: updated membership, terms of reference and conduct


The following individuals and organisations are members of the working group which is published on the Scottish Government’s website:



Anita Stewart

Chair (Scottish Government)

Tony Cain

ALACHO (Local Authority Housing Officers)

James Foice

Association of Serviced Apartment Providers

Sarah Farnham/ Ryan Pearson

Chris McKie

City of Edinburgh Council

Alisa Raeburn

Community Land Scotland

Mike Callaghan


Wayne Mackay

Electrical Safety First

Jean-Philippe Monod


Barry McCulloch

Federation of Small Businesses

Jo Millar

Gilson Gray

David Littlejohn

Heads of Planning Scotland

Alastair McKie

Law Society of Scotland

Hazel Stevenson

Local Authority Environmental Health Officers

Kirsten Henderson


Geoffrey Smith

Police Scotland

Gavin Percy

Quality in Tourism

Professor Russel Griggs

SG Regulatory Review Group

Chris Getty/ James Clark

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service

Simon Ovenden

Scottish Land & Estates

Marc Crothall

Scottish Tourism Alliance



Gary Munro & Kimberley Langley

SOLAR Scotland (Scottish Local Authority Lawyers and Administrators)

Leon Thompson

UK Hospitality

Patrick O’Shaughnessy

Visit Scotland

The following were members of the working group until they resigned at the meeting on 4 August 2022:

  • Marie Lorimer, Airbnb
  • Fiona Campbell, Association of Scotland’s Self-Caterers
  • Shomik Panda, UK Short-Term Accommodation Association
  • David Weston, Scottish Bed & Breakfast Association

All members (including those who resigned in August last year) were invited to attend the 5th meeting on 2 February 2022 in order to provide input to revise the licensing guidance to reflect the Licensing Order approved by the Scottish Parliament in January 2022.

Terms of reference

The purpose of this working group is to assist the Scottish Government to finalise guidance on the short-term lets licensing scheme and planning control areas, ahead of implementation of licensing schemes from October 2022.

The Licensing Order has been approved by the Scottish Parliament and will come into force on 1 March 2022. It is outwith the group’s scope to debate whether to implement a licensing scheme. Challenges identified with implementation will be noted and followed up with relevant parties outwith meetings.

Finalising the 2022 guidance

The working group will provide valuable input to update draft guidance published in June 2021 to ensure it is helpful and easy to understand, and reflects the legislation passed by the Scottish Parliament on 19 January 2022.

Members of the group are invited to use their knowledge and experience to make suggestions about revisions to the scope, style and content of the guidance.


The Scottish Government will chair and provide secretariat support to the working group. Scottish Government officials will make every effort to find appropriate solutions to issues identified by stakeholders. Ownership of the guidance documents rests with the Scottish Government and the final decisions on the guidance rest with Scottish Ministers.

Members are asked to make every effort to ensure they, or a substitute, attends working group meetings. We may also ask members to engage in the work of the group through correspondence, as circumstances dictate. 

Members are expected to work constructively with the group to find solutions and deliver products that are comprehensive and helpful for the end users.

Papers issued to the working group can be shared with others for the purposes of identifying issues and solutions and developing the guidance.  However, to facilitate open and effective communications at meetings, we ask members to treat the discussion itself in confidence and not to quote the views expressed by other members (or officials) without first seeking permission to do so. Expectations about engagement with officials is set out within the Scottish Government policy on unacceptable behaviour.

Every member of the working group is expected to treat others with dignity, respect and compassion. This includes being respectful in the way we communicate with colleagues, treating each other fairly, without discrimination and recognising the value of others’ contributions and opinions.

Members agree to listen to concerns raised without prejudice and agree not to act in a manner to damage the reputation of any individual or the working group as a whole.

Membership of the working group is without prejudice to members’ freedoms to express their sectors’ views and represent their interests in the media and other fora.

Back to top