Public appointment: Members reappointed to the Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park Authority Board.

Public appointments news release.

The Minister for Green Skills, Circular Economy and Biodiversity, Lorna Slater MSP, today announced the reappointment of Claire Chapman, Dr Sarah Drummond, Ronnie Erskine, Dr Heather Reid and Professor Christopher Spray as Members of Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park Authority Board.


Claire Chapman is Renewable Generation Manager at Scottish Water with responsibility for renewable assets.  Prior to that she headed the Scottish Water Capital Planning and Environmental Team.

Dr Sarah Drummond is a Director at the School of Good Services.  She co-founded Snook and led the company as CEO for over 12 years before becoming Chief Digital Officer at NEC.  She received an honorary doctorate from the Glasgow School of Art for services to design in 2019 as well as being awarded a Google Fellowship for her work in technology and democratic innovation.

Ronnie Erskine brings a breadth of finance, audit, risk management and leadership experience to this role from various public bodies over a 40 year period.  This includes 30 years working in finance and corporate roles in local government as well as three years in the Department for International Development, heading the Finance Profession.  He has served as a Board member at NHS Tayside where he chaired the Audit and Risk Committee.  In a voluntary capacity, Mr Erskine has chaired CIPFA in Scotland.

Dr Heather Reid is a physicist and meteorologist with over 25 years' experience and skills in public science engagement and education, especially in climate change and environmental science.  She also has experience of strategic policy-making, public sector governance and has served on several charity boards.  Dr Reid brings additional experience in media and communications having worked with the BBC and other media agencies.

Professor Christopher Spray is Emeritus Professor of Water Science and Policy at the UNESCO Centre for Water Law, Policy and Science at the University of Dundee. His work and research focuses on water and wetlands, habitat restoration and natural flood risk management.  He has over 35 years of experience working in a number of fields across ecology, nature conservation, water and environmental regulation.  Previous positions held include Director of Science for the Scottish Environment Protection Agency, a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of Scottish Natural Heritage, and chairman of the UK Government’s Scientific Advisory Committee on Special Protection Areas and Ramsar sites.


Ms Chapman, Dr Drummond, Mr Erskine, Dr  Reid and Professor Spray will be reappointed for four years from 1 November 2022 until 31 October 2026.

The reappointments are regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.

Remuneration and time commitment

The reappointment attracts remuneration of £217.69 per day for a time commitment of three days per month.

Other ministerial appointments

Dr Reid is a Member of the Board of NatureScot, for which she receives remuneration of £320.22 per day for a time commitment of 30 days per year.

Ms Chapman, Dr Drummond, Mr Erskine and Professor Spray do not hold any other public appointments.

Political activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public.

Ms Chapman, Dr Drummond, Mr Erskine, Dr  Reid and Professor Spray have had no political activity within the last five years.


Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park was established by the National Parks (Scotland) Act 2000 to safeguard areas of outstanding and diverse landscapes, habitats and communities.  This is done by working to co-ordinate the delivery of four main statutory aims:

  • conserve and enhance the natural and cultural heritage of the area;
  • promote the sustainable use of the natural resources of the area;
  • promote understanding and enjoyment (including enjoyment in the form of recreation) of the special qualities of the area by the public; and
  • promote sustainable economic and social development of the area’s communities.

This means being involved in developing key strategic documents such as:

  • National Park Partnership Plan, which sets out our priorities for the Park’s development in association with partner organisations.
  • Local Development Plan, which guides all future development and the use of land.
  • The National Parks’ response to the Climate and Nature Emergencies and the National Biodiversity strategy.

Additionally, the National Park has a statutory planning function and the Board makes planning decisions.

Back to top