Public appointment: Members appointed to Tayside NHS Board

Public appointments news release

The Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care, Neil Gray MSP, today announced the appointment of three new Non-Executive Members of Tayside NHS Board.


Ms Colleen Carlton has worked in nursing for ten years with experience spanning across community and emergency care. Ms Carlton’s particular area of interest was critical care where she specialised. More recently, Ms Carlton has pursued a new career path, becoming a director of a limited company, where she has gained experience with global financial markets. Ms Carlton will be using the experience gained across her career to take on the Digital Transformation interests of the Board. Ms Carlton is passionate about access to healthcare and removing as many barriers as possible to patients to access the services and care they need.

Mr Brian Jones is Chief Executive of a charity in London and brings with him more than twenty years’ experience in senior leadership roles both Executive and Non-Executive. He has extensive experience of strategic and operational transformation and corporate governance. Mr Jones is a non-executive director of The Health Products Regulatory Authority, Ireland and a member of its Audit Committee. He is also non-executive director of Quays Housing and a trustee of a national charity. Mr Jones’ experience in these positions will be key when working on the Estates and Property Management interests of the Tayside NHS Board.

Mr Steven Whyte has over thirty years’ experience working in the public sector looking after a range of service areas. As a qualified accountant with CIPFA, Mr Whyte has experience in dealing with complex financial situations including delivering the first Bond issuance on the London Stock Exchange by a local authority in Scotland. He was also awarded the CIPFA Public Finance Professional of the year in 2017. In addition to this, Mr Whyte has led a number of large capital projects including joint projects with the NHS, Police Scotland, Scottish Government and local authorities a number of which have won professional awards. This experience will be key to helping the NHS Tayside Board with Finance, Audit and Risk.


These appointments will be for 4 years and will run from 24 June 2024 to 23 June 2028.

These appointments are regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.


These appointments are part-time and attract a remuneration of £18,060 for a time commitment of 2 days per week.

Other ministerial appointments

Mr Brian Jones is an Authority Member of the Health Products Regulatory Authority, Ireland, for which he receives remuneration of €7,500 per annum, for a time commitment of 2 days per month.

Ms Colleen Carlton and Mr Steven Whyte do not hold any other public appointments.

Political activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public.   

Ms Colleen Carlton, Mr Brian Jones and Mr Steven Whyte have had no political activity within the last five years.


NHS Tayside is responsible for meeting the health needs and improving the health and wellbeing of over 400,000 people living in Tayside, and provides a comprehensive range of primary, community-based, and acute hospital services for the populations of Angus, Dundee City and Perth & Kinross.

Back to top