Public appointment: member reappointed to Tayside NHS Board

Public appointments new release.

This document is part of a collection

The Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care, Humza Yousaf MSP today announced the reappointment of Emma Jane Wells as a Member of Tayside NHS Board.


Emma Jane Wells’ career has involved working at a strategic level with museums and community heritage organisations and she brings a wide range of community engagement, audience development and customer experience skills to Tayside NHS Board. As a mentor to not-for-profit organisations, she identifies challenges and opportunities facing local communities in accessing services and brings an understanding of tackling inequalities and developing employability skills.

Mrs Wells has experience in developing communication strategies, collecting feedback to shape services and facilities and working with Third Sector organisations to help them optimise communications, operational processes and procedures.


This reappointment will be for four years and will run from 1st April 2022 to 31st March 2026.

This reappointment is regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.


This reappointment is part-time and attracts a remuneration of £8,842 per annum for a time commitment of one day per week.

Other ministerial appointments

Mrs Wells does not hold any other public appointments.

Political activity  

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public.   

Mrs Wells has had no political activity within the last five years.


NHS Tayside is responsible for meeting the health needs and improving the health and wellbeing of over 400,000 people living in Tayside, and provides a comprehensive range of primary, community-based and acute hospital services for the populations of Angus, Dundee City and Perth and Kinross.

Back to top