Planning Review working groups: summary of workshops: September 2016

Summary of the discussions held during the planning review working groups in Edinburgh on 12 and 13 September 2016.

Attendees and apologies

Development Planning

Aedán Smith, Scottish Environment LINK
Bill Lindsay, Heads of Planning Scotland
Bruce Walker, Homes for Scotland
David Liddell, DPEA
David Torrance,Transport Scotland
Garry Clark, Scottish Chambers of Commerce
George Eckton, SEStran
Helen McDade, Planning Democracy
Iain McDiarmid, Shetland Council
John Kelly, Linlithgow & Linlithgow Bridge Community Council
Judy Wilkinson, Scottish Allotments and Gardens Society
Kate Houghton, Royal Town Planning Institute Scotland
Kate Leer, Scottish Cities Alliance
Kelvin Campbell, Smart Urbanism
Liz Hawkins, Scottish Government Housing
Michaela Sullivan, Scottish Property Federation
Stephen Tucker, Barton Willmore
Stuart Black, Highland Council
Stuart Mearns, Heads of Planning Scotland
Stuart Salter, Geddes Consultating
Stuart Tait, Clydeplan
Tammy Adams, Homes for Scotland
Tony Harris, Edinburgh Association of Community Councils


Adam Priestley, Transport Scotland
Aileen Mackenzie, Scottish Water
Amanda Burgauer, Scottish Rural Action
Bruce Kiloh, Strathclyde Partnership for Transport
Catherine Wood, Homes for Scotland
Craig Clement, Association of Directors of Education
Esther Wilson, Chartered Institute of Housing
Fiona Stirling, Scottish Natural Heritage
Ian Aikman, Heads of Planning Scotland
Ian Jessiman, Scottish & Southern Energy (SSE)
Jim Grant, Heads of Planning Scotland
John Kerr, Chartered Institute of Housing
John McKechnie, BT Openreach
Keith Winter, South East Scotland City Deal / SOLACE
Ken Ross, Scottish Property Federation
Lisa Cameron, Network Rail
Robert Gray, Aberdeenshire Council
Rosemary Greenhill, Scottish Government
Ross Martin, SCDI
Sara Thiam, Institution of Civil Engineers
Stefano Smith, Royal Town Planning Institute Scotland
Steve Loomes, Homes for Scotland
Susan Lane, Scottish Government Housing
Tony Rose, Scottish Futures Trust


Amanda Britain, Chartered Institute of Housing
Bob Reid, Halliday Fraser Munro
Brian Frater, Heads of Planning Scotland
Brian Gegan and Campbell Purves, McCarthy & Stone
Christa Reekie, Scottish Futures Trust
Craig Ormond, Homes for Scotland
David Stewart, Scottish Federation of Housing Associations
Derek Lawson, Homes for Scotland
Derek Logie, Rural Housing Scotland
Dorothy McDonald, Clydeplan
Fraser Carlin, Heads of Planning Scotland
Hew Edgar, RICS
Lisa Bullen, Scottish Government Housing
John Shepherd, Scottish Property Federation
Nicola Woodward, Nathaniel Lichfield
Patrick Flynn, Glasgow City Council
Robin Blacklock, Representing PRS Champion
Ronnie Macrae, The Highlands Small Communities Housing Trust

Development Management

Carolynne Sutherland, Homes for Scotland
Colin Graham, Scottish Property Federation
Dara Parsons, Historic Environment Scotland
Darren Hemsley, Scottish Natural Heritage
Elaine Fotheringham, Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Gary McGovern, Pinsent Masons
Jim Miller, Heads of Planning Scotland
Margaret Bochel, Burness Paull
Malcolm MacLeod, Heads of Planning Scotland
Niall Murphy, Pollokshields Community Council
Paul Lewis, Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Richard Phillips, WYG
Robin Holder, Homes for Scotland
Sarah-Jane Laing, Scottish Land & Estates

Leadership, Resourcing and Skills

Barbara Cummins, Historic Environment Scotland
David Leslie, Heads of Planning Scotland
David Melhuish, Scottish Property Federation
David Wood, PAS
Diarmaid Lawlor, Architecture and Design Scotland
Irene Beautyman, Improvement Service
John McCarthy, Heriot-Watt University
Nick Wright, Royal Town Planning Institute Scotland
Nikola Miller, Homes for Scotland
Pam Ewen, Fife Council
Robert Nicol, COSLA
Steve Rogers, Heads of Planning Scotland

Community Engagement

Angus Hardie, Scottish Community Alliance
Anna MacLean, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park Authority
Cathy McCulloch, Scottish Children's Parliament
Clare Symonds, Planning Democracy
David Prescott, Dunblane Community Council
Gillian McCarney, Heads of Planning Scotland
Graeme Patrick, Homes for Scotland
Julia Frost, PAS
Karl Doroszenko, Heads of Planning Scotland
Kevin Murray, Kevin Murray Associates
Lesley Riddell-Robertson, Architecture and Design Scotland
Lynne Tammi, Article 12
Mandy Catterall, Scottish Property Federation
Richard Heggie, Royal Town Planning Institute Scotland
Ruth Mulvenna, Improvement Service
Scott Dalgarno, Highland Council
Steve Robertson, Isle of Rum Community Trust


Individuals from the following organisations were also invited:

  • Brodies LLP
  • BT
  • Cardiff City Council
  • Community council representatives
  • Core Mediation
  • Cupar Development Trust
  • District Valuer Services
  • East Lothian Council
  • Empty Homes Initiative
  • Energise Galashiels
  • Federation of Small Businesses
  • Fife Economy Partnership
  • Glenrothes Area Futures Group
  • Highlands & Islands Enterprise
  • Inclusion Scotland
  • Independent Living in Scotland
  • Jones Lang Lasalle
  • MH Planning Associates
  • Mobile UK
  • NFU Scotland
  • Network Grid
  • Planning academics
  • PRS Champion
  • Royal Town Planning Institute Young Planners
  • Scottish Business in the Community
  • Scottish Canals
  • Scottish Disability Equality Forum
  • Scottish Enterprise
  • Scottish Renewables
  • SGN
  • South Lanarkshire Council
  • SP Energy Networks
  • SP Power Systems
  • Tayplan
  • Terence O’Rourke
  • Virgin
Scottish Government Planning Review FC Report 300916.pdf



Telephone: 0131 244 7528

Area 2-H (South)
Planning and Architecture Division
The Scottish Government
Victoria Quay

Back to top