Place Directors: factsheet

Information about Place Directors who represent Scottish Government in local authority and Community Planning Partnership areas.


The role of Place Directors is to understand, promote and support how public services work together and with communities, to improve wellbeing and outcomes on local and national priorities. They provide a bridge between local areas and the Scottish Government, providing two-way intelligence, constructive criticism and, where valuable, support for local capacity building. Their strategic role complements the more detailed responsibility of civil servants in relevant Scottish Government policy teams for testing and supporting how specific policies, services and reform programmes are taken forward in places across Scotland.

Geographical Area Place Director Email Address

West Lothian 

Jonathan Pryce

jonathan.pryce@gov.scot

West Dunbartonshire 

Colin MacBean

Colin.MacBean@gov.scot

Stirling 

David Robb

David.Robb@gov.scot

South Lanarkshire 

Clare Hicks

DirectorforEducationReform@gov.scot

South Ayrshire 

Susan  Gallacher

Susan.Gallacher@gov.scot

South Ayrshire 

Lisa  Mcguinness

Lisa.Mcguinness@gov.scot

Shetland Islands  

Phil Raines

philip.raines@gov.scot

Scottish Borders 

Alison Irvine

Alison.Irvine@gov.scot

Renfrewshire 

Ellen Leaver

Ellen.Leaver@gov.scot

Renfrewshire 

Gavin Gray

gavin.gray@gov.scot

Perth & Kinross 

Dougie McLaren

Douglas.McLaren@gov.scot

Outer Hebrides

Murdoch Macleod 

Murdoch.Macleod@gov.scot

Orkney Islands 

Joe Brown

Joe.Brown@gov.scot

North Lanarkshire 

Rebecca Hackett

Rebecca.Hackett2@gov.scot

North Ayrshire 

Sam  Anson

Sam.Anson@gov.scot

Moray 

George Burgess

DirectorARE@gov.scot

Midlothian 

Penny Curtis

penelope.curtis@gov.scot

Inverclyde 

Fiona Simpson

Fiona.Simpson@gov.scot

Highland 

Donna MacKinnon

donna.mackinnon@gov.scot

Glasgow City 

Gary Gillespie

gary.gillespie@gov.scot

Fife

Alison Taylor

alison.taylor@gov.scot

Falkirk

vacant 

 

Edinburgh (City of)

Alison Cumming

alison.cumming@gov.scot

Edinburgh (City of) 

Deborah Smith

Deborah.Smith@gov.scot

East Renfrewshire 

David  McPhee

David.Mcphee@gov.scot

East Lothian 

Bettina Sizeland

Bettina.Sizeland@transport.gov.scot

East Dunbartonshire 

vacant 

 

East Ayrshire 

Jane O'Donnell

Jane.O'Donnell@gov.scot

Dundee City 

Sean Neill

DirectorForLocalGovernment&Housing@gov.scot

Dumfries & Galloway 

Colin Cook

DirectorDED@gov.scot

Clackmannanshire  

Derek Grieve

Derek.Grieve@gov.scot

Argyll & Bute  

Rachael McGruer

rachael.mcgruer@gov.scot

Angus 

Tim Mcdonnell

Tim.Mcdonnell@gov.scot

Aberdeenshire 

Anne Aitken

Anne.Aitken@gov.scot

Aberdeenshire 

Gayle Gorman

Gayle.Gorman@educationscotland.gov.scot

Aberdeen City 

Richard McCallum 

Richard.McCallum@gov.scot

 

Back to top