Publication - Advice and guidance

The Honours system

Published: 12 Oct 2020
Last updated: 12 Oct 2020 - see all updates

Information about the UK Honours system and the nomination process.

12 Oct 2020
The Honours system

The UK Honours system

The UK Honours consist of a number of different awards and categories. We are concerned with the following six :

  • BEM
  • MBE
  • OBE
  • CBE
  • Dame/Knighthood
  • Companion of Honour

Each has distinct requirements which directs what award is available to each worthy nominee. This is clearly based on the areas and impact of the nominee’s achievements.

Scotland and the Honours

Although the UK Honours process is led by the Cabinet Office in London, the Scottish Government promotes, develops and processes nominations for the people of Scotland. We provide advice, supporting literature and assurance that nominations are presented to the Honour Committees in the recognised and accepted format.

How to nominate

The nomination of inspiring individuals is simpler than you might think. With some few key items of information and a good overview of the nominee’s achievements, you are already well on the way to a nomination. If you contact the Protocol and Honours team they can provide you with a simple to use nomination form and supporting guidance. They can also answer questions and provide advice.



First published: 12 Oct 2020 Last updated: 12 Oct 2020 -