Planning Circular 5/2009: hierarchy of developments

Circular 5 in the 2009 Scottish Planning Circular Series providing guidance on applying the hierarchy of developments.

This document is part of a collection

We provide guidance on how the regulations that introduce the hierarchy of developments impact on each of the three tiers of the hierarchy, which are:

  • national developments
  • major developments
  • local developments

It explains how the hierarchy regulations should be applied across the three types of development.

More information

Circulars contain our policies on the implementation of legislation and procedures.

Statements of our policy in circulars may be considerations to take into account in development plans and development management decisions.

hierarchy of developments.pdf



Telephone: 0131 244 7528

Area 2-H (South)
Planning and Architecture Division
The Scottish Government
Victoria Quay

Back to top