Scottish Government Special Advisors: FOI review

Information request and response under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002

Information requested

Please can you provide a list of the Scottish Government's current special advisers. 


On reviewing the response to your original request, I have concluded that the original decision should be substituted. You asked for the Special Advisors in post on 7 June and although the forthcoming publication will provide a list of all Special Advisors once finalised, it will not confirm who was in post on 7 June.

Therefore, section 27(1) is not applicable, and we will release the information you have requested.

I can confirm that on 7th June, the following Special Advisors were in post:

Jeanette Campbell
Ewan Crawford
Leanne Dobson
Davie Hutchison
Ross Ingebrigtsen
John MacInnes
Colin McAllister
Callum McCaig
John McFarlane
Stuart Nicolson

For clarity, additional Special Advisors have been appointed since 7th June. Also, as previously indicated, Liz Lloyd is on a period of leave from Government and will return later in the summer.

About FOI

The Scottish Government is committed to publishing all information released in response to Freedom of Information requests. View all FOI responses at


Please quote the FOI reference
Central Enquiry Unit
Phone: 0300 244 4000

The Scottish Government
St Andrews House
Regent Road

Back to top