Culture sector gathering June 2017: schedule and participants

Schedule and participants for the first engagement event for developing a culture strategy for Scotland, which took place on 26 June 2017.


Glasgow Women's Library, Bridgeton, Glasgow


2-5pm, Monday 26 June 2017 followed by Networking Reception

Event schedule:

13.30 Registration and refreshments

14.00 Welcome, agenda and session aims – Leonie Bell, Head of Engagement, SG Culture Division

14.10 Opening Address – Fiona Hyslop, Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

14.30 Introduction to Roundtable Conversations - Leonie Bell

14.40 Roundtable conversations

Introductions and Ground Rules (5 mins)

  • Q1. The three principles of access, equity and excellence (10 mins)
  • Q2. The Scope of Culture (10 mins)
  • Q3. Where we are now? (10 mins)
  • Q4. What do we want the future for culture in Scotland to be like? (10 mins)
  • Q5. How can we support getting there? (10 mins)
    Feedback Preparation (5 mins)

15.45-16.00 Comfort break and refreshments

16.00 Feedback by table hosts and plenary discussion - Jonathan Pryce, Director, SG Directorate for Culture, Tourism and Major Events, supported by Leonie Bell

17.00 Closing remarks - Fiona Hyslop, Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

17.15 Networking Reception with refreshments

17.30 Welcome - Adele Patrick, Glasgow Women's Library

17.40 Performance - Diljeet Bhachu and Hannah Lee

18.30/19.00 Close


  • Rona Alexander, Big Lottery Fund, Head of Funding
  • Karen Anderson, Architecture & Design Scotland, Chair, architect
  • Ewan Angus, BBC Scotland, Head of Multiplatform Commissioning
  • Janet Archer, Creative Scotland, CEO
  • Rachel Blanche, Queen Margaret University
  • Kara Brown, The Young Women's Movement (YWCA), Scotland Director
  • Katrina Brown, The Common Guild Director
  • Rachael Brown, Culture Enterprise Office, CEO
  • Alasdair Campbell, AC Projects, Creative Producer and Director
  • Sorcha Carey, Festivals Edinburgh, Director and Chair
  • Lucy Casot, Heritage Lottery Fund, Head of HLF Scotland
  • Marie Christie, Event Scotland, Head of Culture
  • David Cook, Freelance creative consultant
  • Sarah Cook, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, Curator
  • Arthur Cormack, Feisean nan Gaidheal, Inverness/Skye, Director
  • Douglas Cowan, Highland and Islands Enterprise Director of Strengthening Communities
  • Seonaid Daly, Scottish Contemporary Art Network, Director
  • Hope Dickson Leach, Screenwriter, Director
  • Jacqueline Donachie, Artist
  • Barry Esson, Arika, Edinburgh Director
  • Angus Farquhar, NVA Public Art, Artistic Director
  • Neil Firth, The Pier Arts Centre, Orkney, Director
  • Elly Fletcher, An Lanntair, Chief Executive
  • Kenneth Fowler, Creative Scotland, Director of Communication
  • Dr Simon Gage, Edinburgh Science Festival
  • Harry Giles, Poet, performer
  • Muriel Gray, Glasgow School of Art
  • David Greig, Lyceum Theatre, Artistic Director
  • Chris Hampson, Scottish Ballet
  • David Hartley, Scottish Enterprise
  • Ken Hay, Centre for Moving Image/Culture Counts, CEO
  • Jude Henderson, Federation of Scottish Theatre, Director
  • Benny Higgins, National Galleries of Scotland, Trustee and Chairman
  • Brenna Hobson, National Trust for Scotland, Executive Producer/Deputy CEO
  • Helen Ireland, National Museums Scotland, Director of External Relations
  • Tiffany Jenkins, Writer
  • Shelby Johnston, Glasgow Youth Arts Hub
  • Pat Kane, Musician, writer
  • Dame Barbara Kelly, The Robertson Trust (Scotland), Chairperson
  • Nicola Killean, Sistema Scotland, Director
  • Jackie Killeen, British Council, Director
  • Carolyn Lappin, Y Dance, Glasgow, Director
  • Bob Last, Creative Industries Advisory Group (CIAG), Chair, Film producer
  • Euan Leitch, Built Environment Forum Scotland (BEFS), Director
  • Fergus Linehan, Edinburgh International Festival, Artistic Director
  • Fiona Logue, Craft Scotland, Director
  • Shona MacLennan, Bord Na Gaidhig, Chief Executive
  • James Macmillan, Composer, Festival Director
  • Lucy Mason, Freelance producer, consultant, fundraiser Edinburgh
  • Rhona Matheson, Starcatchers, Chief Executive
  • Nial McCamley, Spook School, Post punk band
  • Bridget McConnell, Glasgow Life, Chief Executive
  • Lucy McEachan, We Are Panel
  • Darren McGarvey, Musician, writer, broadcaster
  • Jill Miller, Glasgow Life, Director of Cultural Services
  • Mary Morrison, Creative Arts Business Network, Creative Leader
  • Jemma Neville, Voluntary Arts Scotland, Director
  • Adura Onashile, Theatre maker
  • Joanne Orr, Museums and Galleries Scotland, Chief Executive
  • Andrew Panton, Dundee Rep Theatre, Artistic Director
  • Janice Parker, Janice Parker Projects, Director
  • Alex Paterson, Historic Environment Scotland, Chief Executive
  • Dr Adele Patrick, Glasgow Women's Library, Lifelong Learning and Creative Development Manager
  • Dougall Perman, Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA), Chair
  • Tom Pow, Poet, teacher, writer
  • Alex Reedijk, Scottish Opera, General Director
  • Gavin Reid, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Chief Executive
  • Nuno Sacramento, Peacock Visual Art, Aberdeen, Director
  • Prof Jeffrey Sharkey, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Principal
  • Donald Shaw, Celtic Connection, Director
  • Jackie Shearer, The Beacon, Greenock, Director
  • Max Slaven, David Dale Gallery, Director
  • David Smith, Producers Alliance for Cinema and Television (PACT), National Rep for Scotland; MD Matchlight
  • Andy Summers, Archifringe, Architect, photographer
  • Michelle Sweeney, Fife Cultural Trust
  • Julie Tait, Culture Republic, Chief Executive
  • Dr Krishna Thiagarajan, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Chief Executive
  • Nye Todd, Spook School, Post punk band
  • Pamela Tulloch, Scottish Libraries Information Council (SLIC) CEO
  • Ben Twist, Creative Carbon Scotland, Director
  • Jan-Bert Van Den Berg, Artlink Edinburgh, Director
  • Helen Voce, Hands On Programme, producer
  • David Watt, Arts and Business Scotland, Chief Executive



Back to top