The New Year’s Honours 2024

First Minister congratulates recipients.

First Minister Humza Yousaf has paid tribute to Scotland’s recipients of the New Year’s Honours.

In recognition of exceptional contributions to public life and in keeping with the theme of ‘giving’, this year’s awards celebrate recipients that have contributed to their community and undertaken voluntary services.

Writer and academic Alexander McCall Smith receives a Knighthood for services to literature.

Among those receiving the CBE are Professor Peter Hollingsworth, the Director of Science and Deputy Keeper of Edinburgh’s Royal Botanic Garden, recognising his services to science, and Gayle Gorman, the former Chief Executive of Education Scotland for services to education and charity.

Former football player and manager Alex McLeish receives an OBE for services to charity, including his work with the Catherine McEwan Foundation which supports people with colitis and Crohn’s.

Other recipients of the OBE include former British Lions player and Scotland rugby captain Rob Wainwright, founder of Doddie Aid, a mass participation fitness event to raise funds to aid research into Motor Neuron Disease, which former teammate Doddie Weir fought. OBEs have also been awarded to Catherine Magee, CEO of Dyslexia Scotland, and Alex Reedijk, General Director at Scottish Opera.

MBEs go to Elinor Middlemiss, Chef de Mission for Scotland’s 2026 Commonwealth Games squad for services to sport, Chief Commissioner Susan Walker of Girlguiding Scotland for services to young people, and Robert Christie, head coach of the Scotland Paralympic Lawn Bowls Team.

Fundraiser Keith Morton receives the British Empire Medal for his charitable work with Children’s Hospices Across Scotland (CHAS). The same honour goes to volunteer Elizabeth Kinnear for her work with the Guide Dogs Perth and District Branch.

Chief Superintendent Carol McGuire, Chief Superintendent Faroque Hussain and Police Constable Stephanie Rose receive The King’s Police Medal. The King’s Fire Service Medal is awarded to Acting Director of Asset Management Iain Morris and Watch Commander David Gibson. The King’s Ambulance Service Medal is awarded to Ambulance Care Assistant Alistair MacDonald.

The First Minister said:

“Those recognised in the New Year’s Honours list have made exceptional contributions to communities across Scotland and beyond. These Honours are particularly important in light of the ‘giving’ theme and it is clear that all of the worthy recipients have given so much.

“The service and dedication of these individuals – from the arts, education and sport to business, charity, community cohesion and science – has benefited people across communities and promoted Scotland around the world.

“I congratulate those members of Scotland’s blue-light services who have been awarded The King’s Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals. Our emergency services display incredible fortitude daily and deserve our continued appreciation for keeping people and communities across Scotland safe, every day of the year.” 


The Honours list.

Honours are announced twice annually on the Monarch’s official birthday, and at New Year.


Media enquiries

Back to top