First Minister congratulates Scottish recipients of Queen’s New Year Honours

Queen's New Year Honours 2019

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has paid tribute to more than 100 Scottish recipients in The Queen’s New Year Honours list.
There is a Knighthood for Professor Michael Ferguson for services to science and Damehoods for Ann Gloag for services to business and philanthropy, and Louise Martin for services to sport.
Those receiving CBEs include Nicola Benedetti, Professor Iain McInnes, Diana Murray, Professor Robert Bartlett, Kate Caithness and Susan Douglas-Scott.
George ‘Doddy’ Weir, Stephen Coleman, Joan Aitken, Donald Cameron, Thomas ‘Tommy’ Smith, Baroness Ford, Maureen Campbell and Paul Okroj will all receive OBEs.  
There are MBEs for, amongst others, Andrew Dytch, Belinda Roberts, Mamun-Ur-Rashid, Duncan MacInnes, Jane Campbell Morrison, Jane Bruce, Victoria McCarthy, Peter Scarlett, Jennifer Minto, Mario Di Maio, John Davidson and Carol Burt-Wilson.
Detective Superintendent Sara Buchanan, Assistant  Chief Constable Nelson Telfer and Police Constable Liam Fitzpatrick will receive The Queen’s Police Medal. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Group Manager Brenda Gillan and Community Firefighter Kevin Phillip will accept The Queen’s Fire Service Medal and Paul Gowens at the Scottish Ambulance Service, will receive The Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal.
The First Minister said:
“The Queen’s New Year Honours list highlights the exceptional achievements of Scots whose outstanding service and dedication has made a lasting contribution to their communities.
“Recipients’ interests range from arts and education to business, medicine and science and includes those who have again excelled while promoting our country on the world’s sporting stage.  This year, it is also fitting that a number of people who have done so much to  help mark the centenary of World War One have been honoured. 
“I also want to extend my congratulations to emergency service personnel who have been awarded The Queen’s Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals. Our emergency services deserve our continued gratitude for helping to keep people and communities across Scotland safe, every day of the year.”
Back to top