Queen's New Year Honours list 2017

Recipients of the Queen’s New Year Honours in Scotland

In Scotland there are 98 recipients in the Queen's New Year Honours.

There is one Knighthood and one Damehood:

  • Andy Murray OBE for services to tennis and charity
  • Katherine Grainger CBE for services to rowing and charity

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) include:

  • Christopher Haslett FRSE for services to medical research
  • Paul Martin for services to healthcare and education
  • Margo Whiteford for services to healthcare and charity
  • Frank Mulholland for services to the rule of law in Scotland

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) include: 

  • Poonam Gupta for services to business and charity
  • Susan (Jill) Millar for services to culture in Glasgow
  • Michael Cavanagh for services to sport and the Commonwealth Games Movement
  • Catherine McCulloch for services to children’s rights and wellbeing
  • Alexander Featherstonhaugh (Lord Kinclaven) for services to the Introduction of the Scottish Legal System in schools

Among those receiving a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) are:

  • Iain Baikie for services to the promotion of science education in Caithness
  • Josh Littlejohn for services to social entrepreneurship in Scotland
  • Douglas McGowan for services to the preservation of the PS Waverley and charity
  • Gaston (Robin) Iffla DL for services to equality and community cohesion
  • Tony Singh for services to the food and drink industry and charity
  • Andrew Kerr for services to the arts and conservation in Edinburgh
  • Samuel Morshead for services to UK horse-racing and to charity
  • Agnes Whyte for services to people with lung conditions

Five Olympic and Paralympic stars also receive MBEs:

  • Libby Clegg for services to athletics and charity
  • Katie Archibald for services to cycling
  • Jo Butterfield for services to athletics
  • Karen Darke for services to sport particularly cycling and triathlon
  • Gordon Reid for services to wheelchair tennis

Among those receiving a Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM) are:

  • Audrey Fraser for services to children and the community in Inverclyde
  • Rhona Ritchie for services to education
  • George Cochrane for services to dog management in West Dunbartonshire
  • Margaret Worsley for voluntary service to the community on the Isle of Tiree, Inner Hebrides
  • Adam Kelly for services to business and the community in Galashiels, Scottish Borders


The full Queen’s New Year 2017 Honours list and a separate news release on awards of the Queen’s Police, Fire and Ambulance Service Medals in Scotland are also being issued by the Scottish Government.

Information about the Honours process is available on the Direct Gov website: http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Governmentcitizensandrights/UKgovernment/Honoursawardsandmedals/TheUKHonourssystem/index.htm



Media enquiries

Back to top