Queen's Birthday Honours list 2018

First Minister congratulates Scottish recipients.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has paid tribute to more than 100 Scottish recipients in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

There is a Companion of Honour for Doctor Richard Henderson, a Knight Grand Cross for Sir Craig Reedie CBE and Knighthoods for Professor James Hough OBE and Kenny Dalglish MBE.

Among those to become Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) are Professor Lorna Dawson, Professor James Murdoch and Alexander (Sandy) Begbie. Those receiving an OBE include David Climie, Norman Lannigan, Dr Andrew Fraser, Professor Carol Tannahill, Alison Ramsay, Peter Scott, Stuart Laing, Michael Martin, Lucinda Russell and Julie Joseph. Scots receiving an MBE include Christine Primrose, Mairi Chrystal, Professor Andrew Calder and Alexander (Sandy) Wilkie.

Inspector Craig Rankine and Superintendent Suzie Mertes will receive the Queen’s Police Medal. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Watch Manager, Rosemary Curtis; Group Manager Libby Logan and Area Manager David Rout will accept the Queen’s Fire Service Medal and Paramedic Pat McGrattan at the Scottish Ambulance Service, will receive the Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal.

The First Minister said:

“The Queen’s Birthday Honours list illustrates the achievements of many exceptional people from across Scotland who have shown outstanding service and dedication. The recipients range from those who work in the fields of education and business, medicine and science, to those who promote our country on the world’s sporting stage and through traditional music.

“I also want to extend my congratulations to emergency service personnel who have been awarded The Queen’s Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals. Our emergency services deserve our continued gratitude for helping to keep people and communities across Scotland safe, every day of the year.”


Media enquiries

Back to top