First Minister congratulates Scottish recipients of Queen's Birthday Honours

Queen's Birthday Honours 2019

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has paid tribute to more than 100 Scottish recipients in The Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

There are Knighthoods for Professor Ian Boyd, for services to science and economics on food and the environment, Brian Donohoe, for parliamentary and political service, and Boyd Tunnock, for services to business and charity. There is also a Damehood for Laura Lee, for services to cancer patients.

Those receiving CBEs include Dr Alan McDevitt, Professor Lorne Crerar, Stuart Patrick, Professor Jason Leitch, Ian Callum and Lucy Juckes.

Margaret Berry, Richard Brickley, Theresa Breslin and Boyd McAdam are amongst those who will receive an OBE

There are MBEs for, amongst others, Dr Ashok Bhuvanagiri, Shelley Kerr, Tom Gilzean, Lesley Logan, Rita Ciccu Moore, Charles Brown, Anne Barclay, Ken Brown and Colin Dorrance.

Chief Superintendent Brian McInulty and Detective Superintendent Gail Johnston will receive The Queen’s Police Medal. The Queen’s Fire Service Medal will be awarded to Scottish  Fire and Rescue Service Area Manager John Joyce and Assistant Chief Officer John Dickie and Lorraine Tough, Business Support Manager for the Scottish Ambulance Service, will receive The Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said:

“The Scots recognised in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours have made exceptional contributions to communities the length and breadth of the country. Their service and dedication in fields ranging from the arts, education and sport to business, charity, community cohesion and science has helped to promote Scotland all over the world, and benefited people throughout society.

“It is also important to recognise the work our emergency services do to keep people and communities across Scotland safe and I congratulate those who have been awarded The Queen’s Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals.”

Back to top