Crofting election results

Six new commissioners elected.

Crofters have elected six new Commissioners to serve on the Crofting Commission Board where they will support the crofting system for current and future generations. 

Commissioners are responsible for the Crofting Commission’s performance and sets its direction and polices on regulatory matters that affect crofters.

The six newly elected commissioners are:

  • Cyril Annal, Caithness and Orkney
  • Andy Holt, Shetland Islands
  • Rod Mackenzie, East Highlands
  • Billy Neilson, South West Highlands
  • Mairi Mackenzie, West Highlands
  • Iain MacIver, Western Isles

Commenting on the results, Rural Secretary Fergus Ewing said:

“Crofting is an integral part of Scottish rural life and it is essential that it has dedicated people to represent and reflect the interests and diversity of our crofting communities.

“The elected crofting commissioners will give crofters a stronger say in how they are regulated, bringing valuable local knowledge and experience to the role and I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the six newly elected Commissioners on their election and wish them every success.

“This group, together with the appointed commissioners, will play an essential role in the effective governance and operation of the Crofting Commission, ensuring that it has the policies in place to deliver fair, reasonable and transparent decisions on matters affecting crofters and rural communities.”

Crofting Commission Chief Executive Bill Barron said:

”I would like to congratulate those who have been elected and I look forward to meeting and welcoming them to the Commission.  With the three Commissioners appointed/re-appointed by the Scottish Government earlier this year, we now have a full complement of nine.   I and all the staff of the Commission are determined to give the new Board the best possible support as they take on the responsibilities of leading the Crofting Commission. We believe there is a positive future for crofting and I will do all I can to help the new Board of Commissioners carry out their functions effectively.”


Media enquiries

Back to top