Youth Justice Improvement Board


The Youth Justice Improvement Board promotes a culture of improvement in youth justice at a national level.

The main role of the Board has been to support the delivery of the Youth Justice Strategy and, in particular, its priorities around:

  • advancing the whole system approach to youth justice
  • improving the life chances of children and young people
  • developing capacity and improvement

The strategy concluded in June 2020. A new vision and action plan, setting out refreshed priorities for youth justice, will be published in June 2021.

The board has supported Scottish Government colleagues in the development of the new vision and action plan. It will continue to support the Scottish Government in the delivery of its refreshed priorities for youth justice.



  • Rod Finan, SG Office of the Chief Social Work Adviser (OCSWA)/GIRFEC
  • Neil Hunter, Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration (SCRA)
  • Lynsey Smith, Includem
  • Janine McCullough, Education Scotland
  • Elliot Jackson, Children’s Hearings Scotland (CHS)
  • Paul Carberry, Action for Children
  • Anthony McGeehan, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service (COPFS)
  • Fiona Dyer, Children and Young People’s Centre for Justice (CYCJ)
  • Bill Fitzpatrick, Community Justice Scotland
  • Grace Fletcher, National Youth Justice Advisory Group (NYJAG)
  • John Trainer, Social Work Scotland
  • Colin Convery, Police Scotland
  • Gill Robinson, Scottish Prison Service (SPS)
  • Cat Dalrymple, SG Community Justice
  • Brenda Stewart, HMP YOI Polmont
  • Eddie Follan, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • Ross McLaughlin, Scottish Association of Local Authority Chief Executives (SOLACE)



Email: Youth Justice

Phone: 0131 244 5443

Youth Justice Team
Care, Protection and Justice Division
Scottish Government
Area 2-AC South
Victoria Quay

Back to top