Student Mental Health and Wellbeing Working Group


Meetings of this group have been paused due to COVID-19

The purpose of the group is:

  • to support the implementation of the Programme for Government commitments on additional counsellors and the development of an integrated approach to student wellbeing in colleges and universities
  • to support improved local partnerships, referral pathways and support mechanisms between colleges and universities, NHS Scotland, Health and Social Care Partnerships, local authorities and the third sector, in supporting student’s mental health needs
  • to support work in relation to our letter of guidance to the Scottish Funding Council (SFC) which makes clear that all colleges and universities should develop a strategy for mental health, and work with NUS Scotland and their local student association to develop a student mental health agreement
  • to examine where gaps exist across the sectors in the provision of mental health and wellbeing support to students
  • to learn from best practice around transitions from school to college and university and effective existing local partnerships
  • to encourage collaboration across the public and third sector and approaches to developing shared services and referral pathways and staff supervision
  • to develop an approach to monitoring and evaluation within an enhancement framework

The group will closely align its work with the work of the Children and Young People’s Mental Health Taskforce and the National Suicide Prevention Leadership Group.


  • Claire Jamieson, Scottish Government
  • Steven Paxton, Scottish Government
  • Sophie Avery, Scottish Government
  • Jennifer Russell, South Lanarkshire Social Care Partnership
  • Professor Pamela Gilles, Glasgow Caledonian University and Universities Scotland
  • TBC, Universities Scotland
  • Ruth Unsworth, University of St Andrews
  • Fiona Drouet, Emily Test
  • Lauren McNamara, SAAS
  • Ronnie Millar, Director, University of Edinburgh and Heads of University Counselling Services
  • Jill Stevenson, University of Stirling and AMOSSHE
  • Jon Vincent, Glasgow Clyde College
  • Andy Witty, Colleges Scotland
  • Colin Sinclair, NHS Scotland National Services
  • Brian Magee, COSCA
  • Steve Mulligan, British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy
  • Kirsten Amis, Glasgow Clyde College and BACP
  • Fiona Burns, Scottish Funding Council


Back to top