Regional Economic Policy Advisory Group


This group is no longer active.


The Regional Economic Policy Advisory Group (REPAG) is a representative body of stakeholders within the realm of regional economic policy established to provide Ministers and officials with independent support understanding and managing the impact of the UK Government’s Levelling Up Agenda across Scotland.

In addition, the Group has been tasked with developing a Review into Regional Economic Policy in Scotland, which was committed as part of the 2021 Programme for Government, considering the use of regional geographies to deliver a sustainable, wellbeing economy.

The Group has evolved from the European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF) Replacement Steering Group which was set up by Scottish Ministers in 2019 to determine how stakeholders would like to see Scotland’s share of the UK Shared Prosperity Fund (UKSPF) be delivered and administered. Following the publication of Scotland’s Plans for its share of the fund, the Group carried out a supportive role monitoring the application of the wider UK Government’s Levelling Up Agenda in Scotland.


  • Professor David Bell (Chair), University of Stirling
  • Professor John Bachtler (Co-Chair), European Policies Research Centre, University of Strathclyde
  • Robin Clarke, Highlands and Islands Enterprise (HIE)
  • David Coyle, Skills Development Scotland (SDS)
  • Jennifer Craw, Opportunity North East
  • Douglas Colquhoun,Scottish Enterprise (SE)
  • Rob Dickson, VisitScotland
  • David Ford, South of Scotland Enterprise (SOSE)
  • Anna Fowlie, Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO)
  • Councillor Dr Steven Heddle, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA) 
  • Robbie Kernahan, NatureScot
  • Malcolm Leitch, Scottish Local Authorities Economic Development (SLAED)
  • Claire McPherson, Scottish Funding Council (SFC)
  • Kevin Rush, Glasgow Regional Economic Partnership
  • Jennifer Tempany, Forth Valley Regional Economic Partnership
  • Les Bayne, Reckster

Scottish Government members

  • Cornilius Chikwama, Interim Deputy Director, Economic Strategy, Office of the Chief Economic Advisor 
  • Colin Cook, Director for Economic Development
  • Karen McAvenue, Interim Deputy Director, Regional Economic Development
  • Philip Raines, Interim Deputy Director, Rural Economy and Communities



Hannah Reid

0141 242 0144

Senior Policy Advisor
Economic Development
3rd Floor
5 Atlantic Quay
150 Broomielaw
G2 8LU

Back to top