National Participatory Budgeting Strategic Group


The National Participatory Budgeting Strategic Group was established in 2020, which has been designed to provide strategic direction for participatory budgeting (PB) in Scotland. The Group meets on a quarterly basis to build capacity for PB across Scotland and ensure best possible practice.

Most recently, the Group worked together to design and develop a high-level strategic plan to enable PB to be part of the core infrastructure of a constantly renewing democratic and community life across Scotland. Following the development of the ‘Framework for the Future of PB in Scotland’, the Group works to continuously support the implementation of the framework.

This is a long term commitment with membership spanning across public sector agencies and organisations.


  • Martin Johnstone    
  • Angus Hardie, Scottish Community Alliance
  • Anil Gupta, COSLA
  • Bethany Sharp, Transport Scotland
  • David Kidd, Homeless Network Scotland
  • Ellie Craig, member of Youth Scottish Parliament
  • Fiona Garven, Scottish Community Development Centre
  • David Allen, Scottish Community Development Centre
  • Fraser Stewart, University of Strathclyde 
  • Jillian Mathews, Audit Scotland
  • Katey Tabner, COSLA
  • Kevin Ditcham, Police Scotland
  • Kirsten Urquhart, Young Scot
  • Neil Ritch, National Lottery
  • Oliver Escobar, University of Edinburgh
  • Stuart Matheson, Scottish Government
  • Peter McNaughton, Association of Directors of Education Scotland   
  • Peter Kelly, Poverty Alliance
  • Tressa Burke, Glasgow Disability Alliance
  • Robert Emmot, Dundee City Council/Local Government Directors of Finance group
  • Kathleen Glazik, Scottish Government
  • Tricia Ma, Scottish Government
  • David Reilly, Poverty Alliance
  • Jane O'Donnell, Scottish Government
  • Ruth Hart, Glasgow Disability Alliance
  • Eachann Gillies, Transport Scotland



Back to top