National Cyber Resilience Advisory Board


The National Cyber Resilience Leaders Board (NCRLB) was established in 2016 to fulfil the commitment of Scotland’s first cyber resilience strategy, Safe, secure and prosperous: a cyber resilience strategy for Scotland, ‘to establish a cross-sectoral Board to support and ensure an evidence-based, collaborative approach to cyber resilience’.

With the agreement of the Chair and the Deputy First Minister, the Board was renamed the National Cyber Resilience Advisory Board (NCRAB), with effect from September 2019, in order better to reflect its refreshed functions.

Building on the first strategy, in February 2021 the Strategic Framework for a Cyber Resilient Scotland was launched by the Deputy First Minister, John Swinney MSP. Within it, Mr Swinney states that:

' … the Board should continue to take national oversight of the Framework, providing drive and advice, and challenging me, my colleagues and the Scottish Government to maximise the digital opportunities.'


NCRAB brings together leaders and influencers from across the private, public and third sectors to provide strategic advice, challenge and support to Scottish Ministers, the Scottish Government, and other national delivery organisations to help guide work being undertaken to achieve the vision set out in the Strategic Framework, where Scotland thrives by being a digitally secure and resilient nation.

NCRAB supports the effective delivery of the Framework and its associated action plans by strengthening strategic relationships across sectors and by influencing or intervening at strategic level to unblock barriers to achieving outcomes.



The Board is chaired by David Ferbrache, OBE with the Secretariat provided by the Scottish Government’s Cyber Resilience Unit. NCRAB Members act as ambassadors for cyber resilience and the Framework as opportunities arise.


Secretariat for the Board is provided by the Cyber Resilience Unit.




Back to top