National Advisory Committee for Stroke


The National Advisory Committee for Stroke (NACS) co-ordinates implementation of the Stroke Improvement Plan. The Committee convenes three times a year and aims to promote collaboration, peer support and dissemination of best practice across Scotland.

NACS' remit is to:

  • co-ordinate and evaluate implementation of the Stroke Improvement Plan
  • oversee the development of national stroke strategy
  • provide expert advice to the Scottish Government health directorates


  • Chair: Professor Martin Dennis, Professor of Stroke Medicine
  • Mark Barber, Consultant Physician, Geriatric Medicine and Stroke
  • Elizabeth Barrie, Lead Stroke Nurse
  • Sheena Borthwick, Clinical Lead Speech and Language Therapist
  • Katrina Brennan, Stroke MCN Manager
  • Dr Jackie Hamilton, Clinical Neuropsychologist
  • Andrea Cail, Director Scotland, The Stroke Association
  • Jesse Dawson, Stroke Research Lead, NHS Research Scotland
  • Professor Andrew Farrall, Honorary Professor of Neuroimaging and Education
  • Katie Gallacher, CSO Clinical Academic Training Fellowship
  • Therese Lebedis, Head Occupational Therapist / Clinical Specialist
  • Jacques Kerr, National Clinical Advisor, Unscheduled Care
  • Professor Peter Langhorne, Academic Section of Geriatric Medicine
  • Neil Muir, National Clinical Director for Scottish Stroke Care Audit
  • Professor Frances Mair, Professor of Primary Care Research
  • Jane-Claire Judson, CEO, Chest Heart and Stroke Scotland
  • Mark Smith, Consultant Physiotherapist