Ministerial Working Group – Abortion Buffer Zones


The Ministerial-led Working Group on Buffer Zones around healthcare facilities was formed in 2021 to consider short, medium and long-term actions that may help to address the issue of protests/vigils that take place outside of abortion clinics or other facilities providing healthcare.

The group brings together representatives of affected Councils and Health Boards, along with representatives from the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (CoSLA), the Society of Local Authority Lawyers and Administrators (SOLAR) and Police Scotland.


  • Maree Todd MSP, Minister for Public Health, Women's Health & Sport
  • Ben MacPherson MSP, Minister for Social Security and Local Government
  • Keith Brown MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Veterans
  • Professor Sharon Cameron, NHS Lothian
  • Jon Ferrer, City of Edinburgh Council
  • Rachael Craik, City of Edinburgh Council
  • Kevin McKee, City of Edinburgh Council/SOLAR
  • Dr Audrey Brown, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Elaine Galletly, Glasgow City Council/SOLAR
  • Anil Gupta, CoSLA
  • Cllr Kelly Parry, CoSLA
  • PI Neil Burns, Police Scotland
  • PI Norman Towler, Police Scotland
  • Blair Macdonald, Police Scotland
  • David Bell, Scottish Government
  • Sam Baker, Scottish Government
  • Zarah Kobbacy, Scottish Government
  • Sinéad Power, Scottish Government



Postal address: Abortion Policy and Buffer Zones team, Population Health Directorate, Scottish Government,  3E St Andrews House, Regent Road, Edinburgh EH1 3DG


Back to top