Human Rights Bill Governance and Engagement Advisory Board


The Advisory Board functions as a sounding board and advice-giving group for the Scottish Government. Its role is to consider and discuss issues that arise in the development and drafting of the Human Rights Bill.

Matters are be put to the group, at meetings and by correspondence, for their consideration and comment. The Scottish Government will use the views expressed by members to inform decisions to develop the Human Rights Bill.

The group first met on 9 September 2021.


  • Christina McKelvie MSP, Minister for Equalities and Older People (chair)
  • Ashleigh Simpson, Crisis
  • Catherine Murphy, Engender
  • Colin McFarlane - Stonewall
  • Danny Boyle, BEMIS
  • Eileen Cawley, Scottish Pensioner’s Forum
  • Emma Hutton, JustRight Scotland
  • Gary Christie, Scottish Refugee Council
  • Heather Fisken, Inclusion Scotland
  • Jatin Haria, Coalition for Racial Equality and Rights
  • Juliet Harris, Together
  • Kenny Stewart, Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Lisa Borthwick, Shelter Scotland
  • Lorraine Cooke, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities
  • Luis Felipe Yanes, Scottish Human Rights Commission
  • Mark Hazelwood, Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care
  • Mary Brennan, Scottish Food Coalition
  • Mhairi Snowden, Human Rights Consortium Scotland
  • Oonagh Brown, Scottish Commission for Learning Disability
  • Paul Traynor, National Carers Organisations
  • Paula Preston, Scottish Civil Justice Council
  • Professor Alan Miller, Independent Expert and Former National Taskforce for Human Rights Leadership co-chair
  • Shivali Fifield, Environmental Rights Centre for Scotland
  • Tim Hopkins, Equality Network
  • Yvonne Blake, Poverty and Inequality Commission


Back to top