Compulsory Purchase Reform Practitioner Advisory Group


This advisory group was set up in February 2024 to help inform the development of reform proposals.

The role of the group is to support our reform programme by providing feedback, advice and insights drawn from members’ practical knowledge and experience of compulsory purchase and compensation. 

The group will act as a source of practical expertise and as a sounding board for emerging reform proposals. It will not make formal recommendations to the Scottish Government. 

Wider stakeholder engagement will also form part of the Compulsory Purchase Reform process.

Read our compulsory purchase guidance for acquiring authorities (organisations with compulsory purchase powers) and claimants (owners and occupiers affected by a compulsory purchase).


  • Roseanna Cunningham (Co-chair)
  • Fiona Simpson, Scottish Government Chief Planner (Co-Chair)
  • Elaine Farquharson-Black, Brodies
  • Dougie Bowers, Valuation Office Agency
  • Rob McIntosh, Aberdeenshire Council
  • Keith Petrie, FG Burnett
  • Iulia Toch, Glasgow City Council
  • Gillian Baillie, Gillian Baillie Planning Ltd
  • Michael Duguid, Transport Scotland


Planning - Compulsory Purchase Reform Scotland Practitioner Advisory Group: terms of reference

Back to top