Agriculture and Climate Change Strategic Group


The Agriculture and Climate Change Strategic Group (ACCSG) was established in 2006 with a remit to: 

  • provide oversight of our work on climate change and agriculture, and scrutinise our legislation, spending, policies and other activities
  • provide expert advice to all Group members on issues related to climate change and agriculture, from their own perspective in industry, science or the environment
  • act as liaison between their own organisation and others on the Group on matters related to agriculture and climate change
  • share information with the Group on climate change activities being undertaken by their own organisation

Core areas

The ACCSG will focus on:

  • mitigation, especially development and implementation of the agriculture part of the Third Report on Policies and Proposals (RPP3)
  • adaptation
  • agri-renewables (whether used on-farm or exported to the grid)
  • communicating the benefits of climate change mitigation, adaption and renewables
  • reviewing the scientific programme and advice given on agriculture and climate change

The Group will meet three to four times per year.

Outwith group meetings, members should continue to co-operate and share with each other activities and information that would be of interest to others.


Organisation: Name:
Agricultural Industries Confederation Scotland (AICS)  Dave Freeman, Kevin Mills
ClimateXChange Sarah Govan
Forestry Commission Maida Ballarini
James Hutton Institute (JHI) Deb Roberts, Keith Matthews
Scottish Environment LINK Jim Densham
Scottish Beef Association (SBA) Neil McCorkindale
National Farmers Union Scotland (NFUS) Andrew Midgley
Quality Meat Scotland (QMS) Jim McLaren
Scotland's Rural College (SRUC) / SAC Consulting Rebecca Audsley, Thomas Foot, Vera Eory, Iain Riddell, Michael Macleod
Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA) Mark Aitken
Scottish Government Ian Davidson, Kirsten Beddows, Keith McWhinnie, Alison Knox, Richard Haw, Helen Duncan
Scottish Land and Estates (SLE) Anne Gray
Scottish Natural Heritage (SNH) Cecile Smith, Jenny Johnson
Scottish Tenant Farmers Association (STFA) Alistair Nairn
Soil Association Lyn White