Adult Support and Protection National Strategic Forum


The Adult Support and Protection (ASP) National Strategic Forum provides a strategic and cross-sectoral view of what is needed to improve the delivery of adult support and protection across Scotland.

It assists the Scottish Government and delivery partners in identifying work required to improve the assurance and operation of adult support and protection and its interface with existing and developing legislative and policy areas.

The Forum also provides oversight of and advice on the improvement plan, which is in development.

Formed in November 2018, the Forum is chaired by the Minister for Mental Wellbeing and Social Care.


  • Mr Kevin Stewart (chair), Minister for Mental Wellbeing and Social Care
  • Iain MacAllister, Scottish Government

  • Paul Ingram, Scottish Government

  • Vikki Milne, Scottish Government
  • Heather Gibson, Scottish Government
  • Jamie Aarons, Scottish Government
  • Julie Paterson, Mental Welfare Commission
  • Fiona Brown, Office of the Public Guardian
  • Gillian Faulds, Police Scotland       
  • Kirsteen Maclennan, Care Inspectorate
  • Mike Harkin, Care Inspectorate 
  • Ruth Gottardi, Health and Social Care Scotland 
  • Maureen Scott, Health Improvement Scotland     
  • Claire Duncan, Chief Officer Group Aberdeen City HSCP
  • Sylvia Chatfield, Chief Social Work Officers Group and West Dunbartonshire Health and Social Care Partnership
  • David Thomson, National Mental Health Nurse Leads Group
  • Brenda Walker, Social Work Scotland ASP Leads Network
  • John Paterson, SASPICA National Convenors Group
  • Suzanne Swinton, Chief Executive Officer, SIAA
  • Karen Hedge, Scottish Care
  • Jane Byrne, Health Improvement Scotland
  • Cathie Cowan, NHS Chief Executives      
  • Jeff Ace, NHS Chief Executives
  • Austen Smyth, Coalition of Care and Support Providers in Scotland
  • John Urquhart, COSLA
  • Grace Gilling, NHS ASP Network Group




Adult Support and Protection National Strategic Forum
c/o Scottish Government

Health and Social Care Integration Team
St Andrew's House
Regent Road

Telephone: 0131 244 0469  

Back to top