Access Delivery Group


To help the Scottish Government meet its goal of tackling socioeconomic inequality in higher education by leading on the implementation of the recommendations contained in the final report of the Commission on Widening Access A Blueprint for Fairness.


  • Richard Lochhead, Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science (chair)
  • Susan Stewart, Open University in Scotland
  • Sally Mapstone, University of St Andrews
  • Petra Wend, Queen Margaret University
  • Alastair Sim, Universities Scotland
  • Jim Thewliss, School Leaders Scotland
  • Liz McIntyre, North East College Scotland
  • Ken Thomson, Forth Valley College
  • Stephanie McKendry, University of Strathclyde
  • Linda Somerville, NUS Scotland
  • Liam McCabe, NUS Scotland
  • Murdo Mathison, UCU Scotland
  • Vikki Boliver, University of Durham
  • Shona Struthers, Colleges Scotland
  • Greg Dempster, AHDS
  • Peter Scott, Commissioner for Fair Access (observer)
  • Alan Armstrong, Education Scotland
  • Alistair Gaw, City of Edinburgh Council
  • Neil Croll, University of Glasgow
  • Russell Gunson, IPPR
  • Linda O’Neill, CELCIS

Scottish Government officials

  • Lynn MacMillan
  • Laura Duffy
  • Lynn Brown
  • Mick Wilson
  • Murray McVicar
  • Karen Frew

Scottish Funding Council officials

  • Fiona Burns
  • Michael Cross