Short term lets - licensing scheme part 2: supplementary guidance for licensing authorities, letting agencies and platforms

Licensing guidance part 2 is intended for Scottish licensing authorities, letting agencies and platforms facilitating short-term lets in Scotland.

Annex A

Licence number specification

The licence number will comprise 8 characters, three of which are alphabet (capital letters) and 5 of which are digits (D):


The leading two characters (A1A2) will identify the licensing authority:

Aberdeen City AC

Aberdeenshire AS

Angus AN

Argyll and Bute AR

Clackmannanshire CL

Dumfries and Galloway DG

Dundee DD

East Ayrshire EA

East Dunbartonshire ED

East LothianEL

East Renfrewshire ER

Edinburgh EH

Falkirk FK

Fife FI

Glasgow GL

Highland HI

Inverclyde IN

Midlothian ML

Moray MO

Na h-Eileanan Siar ES

North Ayrshire NA

North Lanarkshire NL

Orkney OR

Perth and Kinross PK

Renfrewshire RN

Scottish Borders SB

Shetland SH

South Ayrshire SA

South Lanarkshire SL

Stirling ST

West Dunbartonshire WD

West Lothian WL

The 5 digits will be issued by each licensing authority.

The final character (A3 ) will denote the type of "licence":

E Temporary exemption

T Temporary licence

P Provisional licence number issued on receipt of a licence application

F First (full) licence

R Renewed licence


A C -1 3 4 7 2 - E

This number relates to a temporary exemption (E) in Aberdeen City (AC). The type of short-term let (e.g. home sharing) will be displayed on the public register.



Back to top