Poverty and Inequality Commission


The Commission provides independent advice to ministers and has a strong scrutiny role in monitoring progress towards tackling poverty and inequality.

It also has an advocacy role to help bring about real reductions in poverty and inequality in Scotland.

The Commission is independent of the Scottish Government and any information or documents published here are hosted on behalf of the Commission.

The Commission established their own website from January 2018, which includes their most recent minutes and details of their current work plan.

Code of Conduct for members of the Poverty and Inequality Commission.



  • Bill Scott


  • Linda Bamford
  • Yvonne Blake
  • Alex Cobham
  • Lindsay Graham
  • Shona Stephen
  • Professor Morag Treanor
  • Douglas White
  • Katie Schmuecker (appointment commences 1 December 2019)